THE BIBLE STUDY…

Years ago I  joined a Bible study that was about business. I don’t recall the name of the study, but I’ve forever remembered the message. The group consisted of 15 men and me. The study was for 14 weeks, and when it was over there was one story in which I have never forgotten.

A man owned a very successful marketing firm in New York. He started the business with hopes of making a difference in the lives of many, but as his business grew, he forgot about the many lives he wanted to change. Years went on and the business became more successful, until finally his firm was given a prestigious award. On the evening in which  his firm would receive their award, he invited everyone from his firm. Those who worked for him were excited to be a part of the festivities and looked forward to sharing the award. When it was time for the man to walk to the podium, he reached his arms out, took his award and then proceeded to forget about those who helped him up to the podium in which he stood.

For fifteen minutes he spoke about how wonderful he was. How he worked his way up to the ladder of success, and he shared how much (he believed) that others loved and admired him.

Within the audience sat 200 of his employees, and one-by-one they got up from their table, and walked out the door. When the man was done giving his speech, those who worked for him were no longer in the room, and the next day when the man went to his office, his office was bare. All his employees went across the street and started a firm where they would be remembered.

The reason I’m sharing this story?

Today I was reading 1 Thessalonians 5: 12-23 which reads:

Dear brothers and sisters, honor those who are your leaders in the Lord’s work. They work hard among you and warn you against all that is wrong. Think highly of them and give them your wholehearted love because of their work. And remember to live peaceably with each other. Brothers and sisters, we urge you to warn those who are lazy. Encourage those who are timid. Take tender care of those who are weak. Be patient with everyone. See that no one pays back evil for evil, but always try to do good to each other and to everyone else. Always be joyful. Keep on praying. No matter what happens, always be thankful, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. Do not stifle the Holy Spirit. Do not scoff at prophecies, but test everything that is said. Hold on to what is good. Keep away from every kind of evil. Now may the God of peace make you holy in every way, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless until that day when our Lord Jesus Christ comes again. God, who calls you, is faithful; he will do this. 

For some reason each time I read in 1 Thessalonians, I am reminded of the man on the podium, and it gives me a beautiful  visual of what happens to a person when they forget to thank the ones who helped them arrive. I don’t believe I can ever thank Jesus enough for what He’s done for me on the Cross, or my family, or each one of my friends who have helped me throughout my life, but I can promise that I will never forget them.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “THE BIBLE STUDY…

  1. A difficult promise to keep, Gina, for the heart must always be searching for those who are not close by. You have challenged yourself, and I will put my money on your winning!

Leave a Reply

