HOW FAR WOULD YOU REACH?

Yesterday afternoon I had to go and meet a friend for yogurt. Southern California has been beautiful, and the wonderful part of being self-employed is that business meetings happen where coffee and yogurt are served.

When I arrived at the meeting I pulled out $3.89 and was ready to pay for my yogurt, but as I went to pay for it, my friend said, “No, this meeting is on me.” I thanked him and the two of us sat in the sun, chatted about business and enjoyed our yogurt.

When the meeting was finished I got in my car and realized that I was still holding my $3.89 in my hand. I turned on my car, and started driving for home. As I got to the intersection that would lead me to the freeway, I noticed there was a man and his dog standing on the corner asking for help. The sign read: Please help me feed my friend. There are some people I see standing on corners and I notice that their shoes are nicer than mine, but when I noticed that this man wasn’t wearing any I realized that God knew the man would be standing on the corner, and that is why I hadn’t put my money away.

As I got closer to him the light turned red. I honked and motioned him to come to my window, but then he looked down at his feet and I knew that he was sharing I would have to drive to him. When the light turned green I moved towards him, and when I got next to him I reached my hand out toward my passenger window and his hand reached in to take the money. The moment his hand touched mine, my eyes met his, and I could feel by his firm touch how badly he truly needed that $3.89. When our hands pulled apart, his tired eyes and worn smile were embedded within my heart. All last night I kept thinking about the man and his dog. I wondered what happened within his life that would make him need to stand on a corner asking for help. Who was the man? Where did he come from? Where does he go each evening?

This morning I went past that same corner and the man was gone, but for some reason the memory of him and his dog will forever remain within my heart. I’ve never met someone who reached so far, for so little.

I guess this is what God means when He says…

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ Matthew 25:37-40

ONWARD BY FAITH!

6 Comments

Filed under Faith

6 responses to “HOW FAR WOULD YOU REACH?

  1. God reached all the way to earth to pull us from our hopelessness, when we could not approach Him. Jesus did that for us.

  2. In our skepticism we can miss out on Jesus right in our midst. I think that is a powerful reminder.

  3. Linny

    When I see people like this man, I can’t always help them out with money, but I always lift them in prayer. It’s not ours to judge why they are standing on a corner or in a center divider of an intersection. God knows why they are there, and I’m sure He arranged for you to be there too, with the money in your hand! God help all our homeless people, especially the children.

Leave a Reply

