THE HAIR TO DYE FOR!

Today I went and had my hair dyed and cut. Yes, I’m at the age where color is needed, and each time  I find a gray hair it reminds me of a tree.

A tree?

Yes.

As trees grow older they grow in height and width, and when a tree has been cut-to-the-ground, one can count the rings. The width of the rings varies  depending on the life of the tree. How much light did the tree get? How much water did the tree drink? Did the tree have nice owners that allowed the tree to live a full life or did the owners cut down the life of the tree?  By counting the rings around the tree,  that is where the age of the tree is found.

And this is why I think of a tree.  The only difference is I don’t count each gray strand as a year of my life, but a moment within my life.

When I was leaving my hair appointment an elderly woman walked by and said she liked the color of my hair. I thanked her, smiled, and replied, “I can’t wait until I don’t have to dye it anymore.”  She looked down at the ground, and then looked back at me and said, “It’s all about Proverbs 16:31.

I smiled back at the woman, got in my car and actually looked up to heaven and said, “Of course you would give me a message today.”

When I arrived home I went to my Bible, and this is what I read: A gray head is a crown of glory; It is found in the way of righteousness. Proverbs 16:31

I believe God was showing me the beauty of hair going gray. It’s age that allows us to understand the true definition of righteousness, and  no amount of hair dye will color that!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “THE HAIR TO DYE FOR!

  1. I bet she has had that verse memorized for years!

Leave a Reply

