GOT A PLAN?

Each day the first thing I do is make an appointment with God. I ask Him each morning to show me a verse that comes to life within my life, and then the next day I think about what I saw and I write about it.

This morning it seemed that I saw nothing yesterday. Yesterday I was tired, and tired seemed to follow me into today. So, this morning, when I went to write,  I couldn’t seem to find anything to write about— so I asked God to give me something today and I got to work.

I’m in the process of rewriting our business plan, and it dawned on me how important a business plan is. I know many people who have never taken the time to write one and their business is very successful, but I’ve always wondered— if they never took the time to write down what they planned to do… will they remember how they arrived?

As I looked through my business plan today I realized all the things I’ve tried. Some were successful, and some won’t be placed back in the new edition, but all the same, I felt as if I was looking through an old photo album that was filled with good times and bad. I also realized that words can sometimes get as old as photographs, for what I wrote years ago now has been aged  with the wisdom of trial-and-error.

What truly interested me was my Exit Strategy. I laugh each time I read it. My Exit Strategy was written so when the time arrives that I am no longer able  to care for my business in the manner in which it was created, I would know exactly the best way in which I was to exit. The part I love most about the end chapter of my business plan, is the end of the story is actually the beginning of the story. For without a reason for a business, there is no business to plan for.

As I was working throughout today I started to think about why I do what I do. Decades ago my heart was instructed to begin a business that would take nearly 23 years to arrive to today. The business is simply about comfort. It’s about giving to those that I will never meet, and it’s about remembering the “why” in which I do, what I do. In the world in which I live in, it would seem that the business hasn’t been that successful, but as I read through my business plan, I realized that I accomplished one major goal and that was to:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

And to remember…

In all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28. 

And the most important thing of all is that when God asks one to start a business  He knows…

‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find  me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11-12

I also learned that the Bible is God’s written business plan,  because people “are His business” and salvation is His Exit Strategy!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “GOT A PLAN?

  1. Brilliant! I love this one. Thank you, Gina.

Leave a Reply

