IT’S HUNTING SEASON!

This weekend I spent time with my children celebrating my granddaughter’s fourth birthday. How wonderful it was to gather in celebration of another year of life. Children are such a grand reminder that life is to be celebrated and not belittled.

This weekend I also spent time talking with others about the upcoming Presidential election, and was quickly reminded that adults don’t celebrate the differences of others as well as children do.

Lately I’ve been noticing that with the advancements of blogging, social networks, and the media, words seem to arrive quickly. I am constantly being sent emails that share the views of Republicans and Democrats, and I have yet to receive one that just states the facts of what each party wants to do, but rather gives me a blow-by-blow of what the other party has done or intends to do.

It seems that when one is talking about religion or politics there seems to be a rise in volume where each voice gets louder and louder to where “one” no longer wants to listen anymore. That’s where I am. Voices are getting so loud, that words, accusations, and hatred has drowned the message.

I believe each person chooses the candidate that best describes their views and values, and that is exactly how it’s supposed to be.

My ex-mother-in-law was a Republican, but within a room where people were fighting among themselves she would sit silently.  I once asked her why she never said anything and her reply was, “The volume has become so loud that no one would be able to hear me if I were to speak.” She then said, “Watch this!” For a few moments she tried to get a word in, but everyone was talking, and no one even noticed that she was trying to speak. We both smiled, and her point was noted.

This morning I woke up and received an IM from a friend: Gina, what are we going to do with these crazy Republicans? We must do something quickly or the world will never be the same again.

Me: What do you mean crazy?

Friend: You know, those darn Rush Limbaugh fans!

Me: Why would you assume every Republican supports Rush Limbaugh?

Friend: Because they are all the same.

Me: You really believe that?

Friend: Yes

Me: Well then. You don’t know me very well.

Friend: Don’t tell me you’re a Republican.

Me: Yep!

Friend: I’m sorry.

Me: What you’re sorry you’re my friend, or you’re sorry that I’m a Republican?

Friend: Why didn’t you ever say anything when I was telling you what I thought?

Me: I have told you.

Friend: I’m sorry.

Me: It’s okay. I’ve always believed that the best children’s story that shows how people really are, is: The Fox and the Hound.  The story is about a fox and a hound who meet when they are children. As children they are the best of the friends, but as they get older the hound has been taught by his master to kill the fox, and as adults they meet again. They don’t recognize each other at first, but then… as they are fighting, they realize that they once loved each other. Because of their differences, they have to let each other go, but because they were once friends, they let each other go peacefully.

And my dear friend… Republicans say the same things about Democrats. Both parties are guilty are thinking that the other party isn’t thinking. It’s interesting to me, because we each like each other. We all love our children, families, country, but yet an election year comes to town, and it’s like hunting season all over again.

Sometimes I wonder what an election would be like if each candidate  just stood up and shared what they were going to do. Doesn’t matter if they are Democratic Party, Republican Party, Constitution Party, Green Party, Libertarian Party, etc., what matters is turning down the volume so we can all communicate again, because Jesus was right when he shared…

And Jesus knew their thoughts, and said unto them, Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation; and every city or house divided against itself shall not stand: Matthew 12:25

LOVE YOU!

Friend: Love you too.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “IT’S HUNTING SEASON!

  1. People have differing views, but we really should be able to talk about what we believe and respect each other. I have decided to avoid politics on my blog because I don’t want to get into debates with people. At the same time, these sorts of discussions happen all the time, especially about religious freedom. (or hot button issues like abortion) It is hard to hold the line on what you believe and respect other people, especially when that respect is not returned. Anyway, I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

