I’M LOSING MY “ONCE WANTED” POUNDS!

 

Last Monday a friend of my husband’s stopped by and I was sharing with him how I was finally ready to lose my “once wanted” 20 pounds. He then reached into his pocket, pulled out his cell phone and said, “Well then. There’s an app for that! My girlfriend has been using it, and she loves it. In your apps on your iPhone search for “My Fitness Pal. It’s amazing. You’ll love it.”

I immediately grabbed my iPhone and uploaded the program. I must say, for the past five days I have never enjoyed giving up food. This app allows me to grab the food that I’m going to eat, and then scans the bar code. Once it scans it shows how many calories I’m going to eat, and how many calories I’ve got left to dream about.

The first day I started using “My Fitness Pal,” I realized  I had never eaten so much food in my life. I had no idea that one cup of lettuce was only 8 calories, or my big Tuna sandwich would only hit the 200 calorie mark. Blueberries, 37 calories, and Low Fat Cottage Cheese had only 80 calories. By the end of each day I had consumed no more than 1,200 calories and had never had so much to eat.

I’ve never been one who likes to eat, so when I wanted something I would reach for the chocolate. How I love chocolate, and all the sweetness it brought to my life, but it also added an extra 20 lbs.

The fun thing about this diet is I had to realize that it was my fault that the weight arrived. I also took into account that when one wants something one is going to get it. For each time I reached for the chocolate I was making a decision that truly said, THESE ARE WANTED POUNDS AND I’M WILLING TO EAT THE CHOCOLATE TO GET THEM!

It’s interesting to me that since I’ve taken full responsibility for wanting to add the extra pounds, I am now taking full responsibility for wanting to give them back. Now, losing the weight is actually more fun to me than putting it on. I no longer need to reach for the chocolate, but can get just as excited about a piece of fruit.

My prayer today is for all women who are carrying around extra weight. From this day forward never call them unwanted pounds. Embrace them. Remember what it tasted like to get them, and then when you’re ready to part ways with your— ONCE WANTED POUNDS… enjoy each day as it comes.

And if you need further motivation, remember Eve. Eve lived in a beautiful garden, And the LORD God commanded the man, “You are free to eat from any tree in the garden;  but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat from it you will certainly die.” Genesis 2:16-17

So, Eve decided that she was not going to listen to what God said, and when Satan showed up… I believe that Satan turned that apple into one that smelled like chocolate, and when she ate the fruit that is when the “weight” of her sin arrived! And the reason that God says you will surely die, is because when one eats foods that are not healthy, we get high cholesterol, have heart attacks, and God is right. Those ailments will certainly kill us!

And, it makes perfect sense to me that when God came looking for them He couldn’t find them…

The the man and his wife heard the sound of the LORD God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the LORD God among trees of the garden. But the LORD God called to the man, “Where are you?”  He answered, “I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.”

And He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?”

The man said, “The woman you put here with me—she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.” Genesis 3: 8-1

I love the fact that from the beginning of time “we” women always want to share our food with others, and then we get to carry the weight of their bad choices with us wherever we go!

And, I love the visual of Genesis 3: 21-22 which reads: The LORD God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them. 22 And the LORD God said, “The man has now become like one of us, knowing good and evil. He must not be allowed to reach out his hand and take also from the tree of life and eat, and live forever.”

This always reminds me of how I feel each time I eat something I know I shouldn’t. I immediately reach for “bigger” clothes, hoping that it will cover up the sins of my flesh. I also love the fact that God reminds me through Genesis 3:22, that I know when I am eating something that I should not be eating, and the reason why I “can’t” live forever is the world will never “satisfy” my true hunger.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “I’M LOSING MY “ONCE WANTED” POUNDS!

  1. Thanks for the prayer! I have 50 “once wanted” pounds I’d like to say goodbye to.

Leave a Reply

