Goodnight John Boy!

Yesterday afternoon a very nice repairman came to fix my internet and phone. My office is so tiny, that I excused myself and went home. I only live seven steps away so it took me no time at all to walk through my front door. As I looked at the clock I realized it was only 3 p.m., and I needed something to do. I was going to clean something, but realized my home was actually clean. I was going to do laundry, but realized I had finished that. So, what to do?

I grabbed a banana, my television remote and turned on The Waltons.  When I was raising my children we lived on a farm. We raised cows, horses, hogs, goats, chickens, dogs, cats and even had a few rats!  We also grew pumpkins and  a Corn Maze, and for many years thousands of children and their parents would come to get lost in the maze!

The Waltons has always been my favorite show because I can relate to it. When I was raising my children we lived much like they did. Always wondering what we were going to have to do without so we could survive another winter. My children each wore clothes that I purchased from our local Thrift Shops, and we ate what we grew. The other thing we had in common was the closeness. My children and I spent countless hours together, cleaning the barns and working with the animals. There were many nights we slept in the barn, while helping our sows deliver their babies. Oh the memories.

Yesterday as I was watching The Waltons I realized that my life still continues to be similar to the show.  I don’t live on a farm anymore.  My children are all grown and gone, and all I have left in the way of animals, are  four dogs and a few hundred Koi Fish, but I do have the memories.

A quick synopsis of The Waltons. The show is about John and Olivia Walton, who live with John’s parents while raising their seven children during the Great Depression and World War II.  The show is narrated by their oldest son, John Boy, who becomes a novelist and writes the story of his life.

Lately I find that each day my heart narrates days-gone-by. I find myself thinking, I remember the days when my children were young, and laughter frequented our home. We didn’t have much money, but were richer than we knew. While its been years since I’ve had to get up and milk the goats, the memory of those moments still remain fresh and new as the smell of warm milk still lingers.


While those days are long gone, I’m so glad to be reminded of how full my life has been. Each moment that has become a memory remains forever part of the stories that will one day be handed down to my children’s, children.

It also reminds me that within the Bible there are 66 themes, and each story has a narrator. Someone who wanted to ensure that stories were remembered, and each had but one theme.  HE!

In Genesis, He is the Creator God.
In Exodus, He is the Redeemer.
In Leviticus, He is your sanctification.
In Numbers, He is your guide.
In Deuteronomy, He is your teacher.
In Joshua, He is the mighty conqueror.
In Judges, He gives victory over enemies.
In Ruth, He is your kinsman, your lover, your redeemer.
In I Samuel, He is the root of Jesse;
In 2 Samuel, He is the Son of David.
In 1 Kings and 2 Kings, He is King of Kings and Lord of Lords
In 1st and 2nd Chronicles, He is your intercessor and High Priest.
In Ezra, He is your temple, your house of worship.
In Nehemiah, He is your mighty wall, protecting you from your enemies.
In Esther, He stands in the gap to deliver you from your enemies.
In Job, He is the arbitrator, Who not only understands your struggles,  but has the power to do something about them.
In Psalms, He is your song-and your reason to sing.
In Proverbs, He is your wisdom, helping you make sense of life and live it successfully.
In Ecclesiastes, He is your purpose, delivering you from vanity.
In the Song of Solomon, He is your lover, your Rose of Sharon.
In Isaiah, He is the mighty counselor, the Prince of Peace, the Everlasting Father, and more. In short, He’s everything you need.
In Jeremiah, He is your balm of Gilead, the soothing salve for your sin-sick soul.
In Lamentations, He is the Ever-Faithful one upon whom you can depend.
In Ezekiel, He is your wheel in the middle of a wheel-the one who assures that dry, dead bones will come alive again.
In Daniel, He is the ancient of days, the everlasting God who never runs  out of time.
In Hosea, He is your faithful lover, always beckoning you to come back-even when you have abandoned Him.
In Joel, He is your refuge, keeping you safe in times of trouble.
In Amos, He is the husbandman, the one you can depend on to stay by your side.
In Obadiah, He is Lord of the Kingdom.
In Jonah, He is your salvation, bringing you back within His will.
In Micah, He is judge of the nation.
In Nahum, He is the jealous God.
In Habakkuk, He is the Holy One.
In Zephaniah, He is the witness.
In Haggai, He overthrows the enemies
In Zechariah, He is Lord of Hosts.
In Malachi, He is the messenger God.

In Matthew, He is king of the Jews.
In Mark, He is the servant.
In Luke, He is the Son of Man, feeling what you feel.
In John, He is the Son of God.
In Acts, He is Savior of the world.
In Romans, He is the righteousness of God.
In I Corinthians, He is the rock that followed Israel.
In II Corinthians, He is the triumphant one, giving victory.
In Galatians, He is your liberty; He sets you free.
In Ephesians, He is head of the Church.
In Philippians, He is your joy.
In Colossians, He is your completeness.
In I Thessalonians, He is your hope.
In II Thessalonians, He is your patience and discipline.
In I Timothy, He is your faith.
In II Timothy, He is your stability.
In Titus, He is the truth.
In Philemon, He is your benefactor.
In Hebrews, He is your perfection.
In James, He is the power behind your faith.
In I Peter, He is your example.
In II Peter, He is your purity.
In I John, He is your life.
In II John, He is your pattern.
In III John, He is your motivation.
In Jude, He is the foundation of your faith.
In the Revelation, He is your coming King.

And, within my life, He is my reason I want to remember. For everything lovely arrived from Him!

“Goodnight, John Boy!”

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “Goodnight John Boy!

  1. Gina, I want to reply with something that sounds intelligent, but I am humbled by this….thank you.

Leave a Reply

