I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!

For the past few days I’ve been enjoying the company of my granddaughter. She lives far, and when she comes for a visit I treasure the time I get to spend with her. Yesterday morning I got up at 4:00 a.m. and worked until noon.  My granddaughter was perfect. She sat next to me, coloring pictures, chatting about what I was working on, and waited patiently for me to finish.

When I realized I had worked 8 hours, I turned off my computer and the two of us got in my car and drove to my sister-in-law’s so  she could play with my niece.  I love the fact that I have a granddaughter and a niece who are months apart, and  enjoy playing  with each other.

As we were driving my granddaughter couldn’t seem to contain her excitement. “Are we almost there yet?”

“Almost.”

“Does she know I’m coming to see her?”

“Yes, she does.”

“Do you think she’s excited to see me?”

“Of course she’s excited to see you!”

As we pulled into the driveway my granddaughter started to smile and said, “I love you so much MaMaw for taking me to see my friend, and I’m smiling because I’m so happy that I get to see her.”

I looked into my rear-view mirror and her smile was priceless. She was truly excited to see her second cousin, and her excitement reminded me of the importance of friends.

When we finally arrived at the door, she knocked and her tiny legs bounced back and forth in anticipation of the door being opened. When she noticed that the door knob was turning she looked at me and said, “Look MaMaw, they’re going to let us in.”

Invited in, my granddaughter ran to her playmate, the two hugged and a fun afternoon was had by all.

As the two of us were driving home I looked through my rear-view mirror and watched as she fell asleep. Contentment had arrived.

When I tucked her into bed last night she said, “MaMaw, I love you so much. Thank you for taking me to play with my friend. I love seeing my friends.”

When she finally fell asleep I smiled. In the simplicity of my day my granddaughter had to sit patiently and wait for me to finish my work, and she did that. Her reward was she got the desires of her heart and the only desire she had was to enjoy the friendship of another.

This morning, when she woke me up, she recapped her yesterday, again thanking me for allowing her to see her friend. As we were talking about the importance of friendships I had to wonder if that’s how Jesus feels when I go to church on Sunday.

Now, I know that one doesn’t need to attend church to spend time with Jesus, but I know God designed it so He could have the undivided attention of everyone who enters the door, and when we meet with friends who love to share Jesus too… we know that someone is going to be excited to see us!

25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:25

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!

  1. What an incredible picture. Your granddaughter sounds real sweet.

Leave a Reply

