WHAT’S YOUR ADVERSITY?

Yesterday I had the most incredible day. My family was coming over for dinner so I got up early, cleaned my house, put on a ham and went to church. I didn’t go to the regular church service, but went to a meeting about a new ministry that our church is starting that ministers to those who are disabled.

When I arrived at the meeting everyone had arrived early and was eating lunch. I sat down, put my name tag on and then read through the handful of handouts that were placed before me, and when the facilitator realized not everyone was eating she began the meeting.

While I was listening to her I couldn’t help but think of the so-many-people I have met within my life who have had their lives changed in a moment due to accidents or disease. Over in the corner was a man who was in a wheelchair who began sharing how he wasn’t always in a wheelchair. How at one time during his life he was a rebel, living a life full of alcohol, women and  bad choices.  He also shared that he only attended church so that his mother would see him attend, and for no other reason. It wasn’t until he broke his neck, and was confined to his wheelchair did he realize that God broke him to save him.  When he said, “God broke me to save me…”  I couldn’t hold back my tears, and within moments I no longer saw a man in a wheelchair, but a man after God’s own heart who wanted to share God’s love with everyone.

As the meeting continued a woman, who was sitting in a wheelchair next to me, worked tirelessly to stand so she could speak. When she finally found her footing her body couldn’t control her movements, and her speech was unrecognizable, but she worked very hard to share her message. When she was finished I had to turn and look the other way. I didn’t want her to see my tears. My heart couldn’t imagine what it would be like to not have control over my hands,  or  the beautiful gift of being able to enunciate my words.

When the meeting was over the man in the wheelchair came over to me and we chatted. He shared his heart and the need for his ministry. When he broke his neck and was sent home from the hospital, he was confined to his living room because he wheelchair wouldn’t fit through the doors to his bedroom or bathroom. The ministry that he is starting is to help make homes livable for those who no longer can walk through their doors.

I’ve always believed that God allows adversities within our lives for a reason. I’ve always said I don’t believe in accidents, only Appointments with God, and if the “appointment” doesn’t kill us or break us, that is when God is able to use us to help others.

I believe we only give what we know. Just like jobs. We can only do a job that we are trained to do. I could never be a doctor and prescribe medicine, because I have no idea what medicine I would prescribe. I can’t be a pilot, because I’m not trained to fly a plane, and ministry is no different. One must know within their heart what is needed before one can give, and just like the man in the wheelchair, he now can help others wheel through their homes, because he remembers what it was like not to be able to.

Yes, giving arrives when one understands the importance of “GIVING!”

My  hope  is that anyone who reads my heart understands that if God has made an appointment with you, and you are in the middle of a storm, just know that He put you there so when you get through it (BECAUSE YOU WILL!) You will be able to help others because YOU will know which route to take!


“Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.”  Romans 5:3-5

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “WHAT’S YOUR ADVERSITY?

  1. Kerri

    Once again God has spoken to me through you… ❤

Leave a Reply

