DO NOT ADD!

The other day I went to pick up my granddaughter and as I was putting her into the car seat she noticed a book on the  front seat of the car and asked, “MaMaw, what is that book about?”

“That’s the Bible.”

“Oh, what’s the Bible?”

“Remember when I visited your house and I took you to church?”

“Yes.”

“Well, the Bible tells the story of God.”

“Oh. You bought me a Bible, but it’s in storage now. I will have to read it later.”

I smiled.

Later that evening she wanted to watch a movie, and I didn’t have any that she wanted to watch so I got online and ordered 30 free-days of Netflix. When it was loaded on my computer, she picked out a movie and the one she wanted to watch was the story of Joseph which goes something like this…

Joseph was the 11th child of Jacob and the first child of Rachel, Jacob’s second wife. Joseph’s half-brothers and sister were the children of Leah, Rachel’s elder sister. Joseph was the favorite child of Jacob; something Joseph’s elder brothers resented. “And when his brethren saw that their father loved him more than all his brethren, they hated him, and could not speak peaceably unto him.” (Genesis 37:4 KJV) 

Joseph didn’t handle his favored position very diplomatically, either. When he had a series of dreams that showed in symbols his brothers and parents bowing down to him, he hastened to let them know about it. This arrogance inflamed his brothers further. (Genesis 37:11) 

Joseph was sent by his father to see how his brothers who were tending flocks were doing. His brothers seized the opportunity to do away with this younger and arrogant sibling. They threw him into a pit and intended to leave him and tell their father that he was attacked by some beast and killed. However, Judah talked them out of this plan and they sold Joseph into slavery instead. (Genesis 37:18-28) 

Joseph is taken to Egypt where he is sold to a wealthy man named Potiphar. Joseph is put in charge of all of Potiphar’s holdings and increases his master’s wealth. But, Potiphar’s wife takes a liking to Joseph and tries to seduce him. Joseph tells her that to do as she suggests would be a sin against God. She pursues him nonetheless and finally Joseph has to run from her to get away. She accuses him of trying to rape her and he is put in jail. (Genesis 39:1-20)  

As the movie started playing it began in song. The characters must have sung for about 10 minutes, when my granddaughter asked, “MaMaw, what are they singing this song for?”

“I have no idea honey. They should be done singing soon.” I answered.

“What do you mean you don’t know why they are singing this song? You said you read the book?”

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about what she said and she was right. I did tell her that I read the book, and in her mind I should have been able to give her an answer. I guess this is what God means when He states…

You shall not add to the word which I command you, nor take anything from it” Deuteronomy 4:2

Because when we add words, even in song,  it can become confusing!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a comment