LESSON NOTED!

Yesterday I received a phone call from my daughter sharing that she was ill and needed a ride to the doctor’s.  Shae is my youngest child, and for some reason has the lowest blood pressure of anyone I have yet to meet. Because of this she gets dizzy, and has been known to pass out, so when she’s not feeling well I am glad that she’s smart enough to ask for a ride.

When I arrived at her apartment I could tell she wasn’t well, and I immediately wanted to fix her. I believe that’s the most frustrating part of being a parent… the I want to fix everything part!

The two of us live an hour from each other, and her doctor is near me, but since she wasn’t feeling well,  she looked online and found a doctor close to her that would take her insurance. The interesting part was  when she called the office, the doctor answered because it rang immediately to his cell phone. It happened to be his day off, but when he heard how sick she sounded on the phone he said, “It’s my day off, but you really do sound sick. I will meet you in my office at 2:00 p.m.”

When Shae told me about the doctor, I seriously was thinking, I’m glad I’m going with you because what doctor lists his cell phone and then goes in on his day off? Must be a serial killer!  Now, I didn’t say that to her, but I was thinking it.

When it was nearing 2:00p.m. Shae gave me the directions and we drove. Now, in my heart I was thinking that we were going to arrive at a Butcher Shop that had a sign in the back that read: OPEN, with a red, blinking light, but I began to become pleasantly surprised when we passed Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills, and Shae said, “Make the next right.”

When we found the street in which we were looking for we pulled into the “Public Parking” that read: $10.00 First Hour. For a moment I thought the positive of taking Shae to a Butcher Shop is that there would have been free parking!

Arriving at the building, a doorman asked if he could be of assistance. We shared the address we were looking for, and he said, “Right up those elevators to 16th floor!”

When we arrived in the office, the office was hopping with sick people, and the two of us waited until her number was pulled, (I mean name was called) and we went into the examining room and waited for the doctor. Shae immediately sat down and I couldn’t help but notice the beautiful view. Within moments the nurse came in and while he was taking Shae’s vital signs the two of us chatted about the beautiful view, and it was at that moment I realized something…

Shae shared with me that before she called she read all the doctor’s reviews online, and felt good about the decision that she had made after she was able to speak with him. I, on the other hand, wasn’t listening to what she said, and was envisioning the  worst in a man who I had yet to meet. It also occurred to me that I’ve never met a physician who would list his cell phone and then come in on his day off.

Or have I?

The first thing the doctor said when he realized what Shae had was… “You must get plenty of rest.”

Jesus said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” Mark 6:31

The second thing the doctor said was, “You must drink plenty of water.”

37 Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them. John 7:37-38

The third thing the doctor said, “Take 1000 mg. of Vitamin C.”

And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb yielding seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for food. Genesis 1:29

And the last thing the doctor did was prescribe her a prescription (which is a substance if not prescribed!)

And the Book of Hebrews shares, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  Hebrews 11:1

Seems to me that God used this physician to be a beautiful example of what being “Christ” like actually is. This physician answered the phone and came to work on his day off. His office was situated within the clouds, and when he shared with Shae what she should do, she “hoped” that his prescription would make her well.

It’s amazing how much I learned yesterday. While I wanted so badly to fix her myself,  God reminded me the importance of others and their gifts. There are many times within our lives when “we” can’t fix ourselves. When we need the “expertise” of another, and when we utilize the gifts that God has given to others, that’s when we get to “personally” meet the person that God created. If our faith actually allowed us to do everything, then really… “What would we need other people for?”

It’s amazing how different the view is when one is on the 16th floor!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

