MY BUCKET LIST…

Yesterday afternoon I took a break from work and decided I would throw a ball for my dogs.  Within minutes I had four dogs scrambling around the yard to bring back “one” ball. I stopped for a moment to see if I could find the others, and while I was searching, Ruby brought me a bucket. I thanked her, and the two of us continued searching.

While we were walking around the yard I realized that I was carrying the bucket, so I put it down… and the moment I did, Ruby dropped a rock in front of me. She was cute. If she couldn’t find a ball for me to throw, she would bring me a rock. I thanked her, patted her head, and then placed the rock in the bucket. It didn’t take long for me to realize that when one thanks a dog with a pat-on-the-head, her heart heard,  I’m going to bring her all the rocks I can find!


Within moments Ruby was dropping rocks at my feet, and I was placing them in the bucket. After about 10 minutes the bucket became rather heavy and I had to let Ruby know that we were done playing and  I turned the bucket over and dumped the rocks. It was amazing to me how heavy the bucket was when it was full or rocks, but the moment I emptied the bucket the weight went away.

I love when I’m going about my day, and God gives me something I can apply to my life.

All afternoon yesterday I kept thinking about the bucket of rocks and decided this morning I would use them. There are certain things in my life I have to take care of that weigh heavy on my heart. So, an hour ago I grabbed my “list” of things I have to complete or pay-off, and for each item on my list I filled my bucket with a rock. When I was finished I had a full bucket that weighs much, but as I complete “one” thing on what I now call,  ” MY BUCKET LIST”  I’m going to remove a rock. I’m not sure how long it will take for me to complete my “BUCKET LIST,” but I’m excited to see how long it takes to actually remove the weight.

I also realized that today is the first day of Lent.  A time when many people give “up” something to the Lord, and I realized that if I work on one-rock-at-a-time… I too will be giving up the things that weigh heavy on my heart. I’m sure it’s going to take me longer than 40 days, but that’s okay.

DAY ONE!

And my favorite thing about my “BUCKET LIST” is it reminds me that…

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

ONWARD BY FAITH!

3 Comments

Filed under Faith

3 responses to “MY BUCKET LIST…

  1. I love your posts and this idea too of creating a Bucket List of the things I want to work on and then give to God!

  2. Great idea, your bucket list. As always, enjoyed your writing.

Leave a Reply

