MY EULOGY!

This morning I got an email from a friend sharing that she read a column on writing her own eulogy for Facebook and her social networks. Immediately I wrote back and asked if she was okay. She confirmed that she was fine, but thought it might be something I would like to do. I wrote her back and told her that I was busy working, doing laundry, and waiting for my dog to bring back the ball I had thrown.

A few minutes ago she sent me this link: http://www.myowneulogy.com

Of course I had to check it out.

I was amazed at all the people who took the time to write their eulogy. For some reason I thought that  defeated the purpose of a funeral. If funerals are for other people than why would I want to write my own.

I wrote her back and thanked her for sharing her heart, but told her that I had already planned my funeral and there would be no eulogy.

The phone rang shortly after, “No eulogy? Who does that?” she asked.

“I do. Everyone close to me knows what I want when I die. I want my family and friends to gather somewhere that has a big screen television, and then everyone will be handed a bag of popcorn. When everyone is quietly seated someone will pop in the movie, “White Christmas” and everyone will enjoy my holiday favorite.”

“WHAT? You’re not going to have your funeral at a church?” she asked.

“No!” I replied.

“WHY?” She asked loudly.

“Because… my family and everyone who is truly my friend has heard me share God stories, and if they didn’t want to listen to me when I was alive, they are not going to want to listen just because I’m dead! And, it’s my funeral. I want everyone to enjoy a few hours of remembering that life is better with friends, the best things happen when you’re dancing, and there really is a Knight on a White Horse!”

She thought I was nuts, but then I shared this… Funerals truly are about the people who are left behind, and by having a “movie” night, my children will be able to enjoy the one movie I played over and over again. Each of my children can recite the movie by heart, and in some ways it’s symbolic.  It’s my way of reminding them that when they miss me they can  remember the stories I shared with them, over and over, because each story had Jesus within it. And if they remember nothing more, I want them to remember how blessed I was to be given the life that I was given. Through all the good and bad, there is a “White Christmas” waiting for each of us.

Of course I had to look up what Jesus said for his eulogy. I’m thinking that since he was hanging on a Cross, and knew the outcome,  he chose his words that he wanted to be remembered…

Here they are:

First thing he said: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they do.” Luke 23:34

Second thing he said: “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.” Luke 23:43

Third thing he said:  “Jesus said to his mother: “Woman, this is your son.” Then he said to the disciple: “This is your mother.” John 19:26-27

Fourth thing he said: “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Matthew 27:46

Fifth thing he said: “I thirst.” John 19:29

Sixth thing he said: When Jesus had received the wine, he said, “It is finished”; and he bowed his head and handed over the spirit. John 19:30

The last thing he said:  Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.” Luke 23:46

I’m so glad my friend asked me if I wanted to write my eulogy today because I learned something.  I learned that “one” must know Jesus to understand those seven things he said and “why” he said them. If we don’t know the person before their death, we will never truly understand who they were by attending their funeral.

ONWARD BY FAITH!


1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “MY EULOGY!

  1. Your last sentence says it all. And White Christmas – great choice!

Leave a Reply

