NOT MY TIME YET!

Well, today is February 13, 2012, and change happened again.

Within my life the only thing I’ve ever been in search of is a friend. I was raised in a home that had all the necessities of life and I never hungered for food, a roof over my head or clothing.

When I was a child we moved often. It seemed that whenever I found a “best” friend. Someone I had much in common with… or laughed at the same tiny things… I would move on and the search  for a friend would begin.

When I became a teenager, God allowed my biological father to move on with his life, and when I became an adult, God allowed my ex-husband to move on with his life. Then He allowed friends to move on with their lives, and with time I noticed that God was bringing me one friend at a time, and when our time was up… He would move us “onward” with our life.

This morning I got up at 2:00 a.m. and started thinking of all the friends that God has introduced me to within my life, and the impact that each friend had within my life.  At that moment I realized it was late and I needed to get some rest so instead of counting sheep, I decided to count my friends, and within moments the comfort of remembering them put me right to sleep.

A few moments ago I asked God this simple question. For nearly five decades YOU gave me family and friends, and  just when I thought  I would get to keep them, you moved them away. Why?


I then asked…  Now please show me the reason why? I opened my Bible to John 6 and my eyes were immediately drawn to: 

 63 It is the Spirit who gives eternal life. Human effort accomplished nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are the spirit of life. 64 But some of you don’t believe me.” (For Jesus knew from the beginning who didn’t believe, and he knew who would betray him.) 65 Then he said, “That is what I meant when I said people can’t come to me unless the Father brings them to me.” 

66 At this point many disciples turned away and deserted him. 67 Then Jesus turned to the Twelve and asked, “Are you going to leave, too?” Simon Peter replied, “Lord, to whom would we go? You alone have the words that give eternal life. 69 We believe them, and we know you are the Holy One of God. 70 The Jesus said, “I chose the twelve of you, but one is a devil.” 71 He was speaking of Judas, son of Simon Iscariot, one of the Twelve, who would betray him.

John 7: 1 After this, Jesus stayed in Galilee, going from village to village. He wanted to stay out of Judea where the Jewish leaders were plotting his death. 2 But soon it was time for the Festival of Shelters, 3 and Jesus’ brothers urged him to go to Judea for the celebration. “Go where your followers can see your miracles!” they scoffed. 4″ You can’t become a public figure if you hide like this! If you can do such wonderful things, prove it to the world!” 5 For even his brothers didn’t believe in him.

6 Jesus replied, “Now is not the right time for me to go. But you can go anytime, and it will make no difference. 7 The world can hate you, but it does hate me because I accuse it of sin and evil. 8 You go on. I am not yet ready to go to the festival, because my time has not come yet. 9 So Jesus remained in Galilee. John 7 1-9

Jesus is right. God brings people into our lives at the appointed time when we are meant to meet them, and then it is God who prompts our hearts  to move “onward.” And what God was reminding me today was this. He hasn’t forgotten the desire that He placed on my heart. He’s reminding me that I can go and do something else. Right now I can turn off this computer, I can put my Bible high upon a shelf or even give it away if I want… or I can understand that He’s reminding me that it’s not my time yet to go to the festival.

How wonderful. I get to make a choice, and I choose to wait on the Lord!

And… I’m happy that all my family and friends (who have moved on) did so, so God could fulfill the desires of His heart. I’m so blessed to know that at night when I can’t sleep, all I have to do is count sheep, and the beautiful part is that I know them all by name!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

7 Comments

Filed under Faith

7 responses to “NOT MY TIME YET!

  1. Amazing thoughts…..thank you for sharing my mind. Blessings and HUGS as we all go Onward!!

  2. Barb Boltz

    I don’t believe I know anyone who has as many friends as do you Gina. Hope I am one of those being counted as you drift off to sleep. Lately I have not been able to read all my email but I always save your Appointments with God so I don’t delete them by mistake and can read the later. So many pop up at just the right time. I plan to continue Onward with you.

  3. You have a great frame of mind. Way to be!

  4. Great reminder– and choice you made to apply it.

Leave a Reply

