IT’S ALL ABOUT A HAM!

The best thing about my kitchen counter is the coffee pot it holds. My coffee pot is always the first place I turn to when my friends arrive in my home.

“Would you care for a warm cup of coffee?”

This morning at 5:00 a.m. my phone rang, and I knew exactly who would be on the other end.

“Good morning Kelly. How are you holding up?” I asked. Then I grabbed a cup of coffee, sat down at my desk and the two of us chatted. Kelly was hours away from attending her brother’s funeral, and the two of  us talked about the moments that brought us up to today. When it was time for her to go— we each said, “I love you.”

A few hours later I picked up the phone and called my friend Jan Moon. I met Jan years ago, much in the same way that Kelly and I were introduced. God introduced us, and I love her dearly.

Today when I was speaking with Jan I made reference to a cup of coffee and I heard this giggling voice, “Gina, within your Appointments with God you start most of them off with a cup of coffee.”

She was right and this is why…

IT’S ALL ABOUT A HAM!

When I was a child my grandmother used to cut the ends off of her ham before she placed it in her roasting pan. I never knew why she did that. Then one day I noticed that my mother did the same thing. Then when the day arrived and I became an adult (actually raising hogs) I would do the same thing. Take my ham and cut the ends off.  It wasn’t until a few years ago where I found this little story and I smiled…

A newly married young woman, while preparing  dinner for her husband, cut off the end of the ham before putting it in the pan to roast, just like her Mother had done before her. One afternoon while her Mother was visiting, her daughter asked her why she had always cut the end off the ham. The Mother replied that it was what her Mother had always done. Mother and daughter decided to pay a visit to Grandma to find the answer to their question.

So the following Sunday, while visiting Grandma, they asked her why she had always cut the end off the ham before putting it in the roasting pan. She replied, “I only had a small pan and it was usually too small for the size of the ham!

I know you’re wondering what does cutting the ends off of a ham have to do with a cup of coffee?

Because…

Whenever I was having a bad day, or someone I loved had died, my grandmother and I would get together and the first thing she would do is put on a cup of coffee. The fresh aroma of her percolating pot and her reaching high into her cupboard— clanging the cups together— always brought me comfort. I knew that the moment the coffee was ready and poured— that I would have her undivided attention.

My cup of coffee is a reminder to me that each person touches our lives in such a way that in the simplicity of love and trust, one can continue doing something in memory of another, and we do it because we LOVED THEM.

And the interesting part of what Jan asked me this morning had nothing to do with coffee, but God used her statement so I would know how to illustrate an answer to a question.

Lately I’ve been asked why it’s important to believe that Jesus Christ IS  the Lord and Savior, and why it’s important to be baptized in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

THE REASON…

JESUS DID IT!

3:13 Then Jesus came from Galilee to John to be baptized by him in the Jordan River.   3:14 But John  tried to prevent   him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and yet you come to me?” 3:15 So Jesus replied  to him, “Let it happen now,  for it is right for us to fulfill all righteousness.” Then John  yielded  to him. 3:16 After  Jesus was baptized, just as he was coming up out of the water, the heavens  opened  and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove  and coming on him.3:17 And   a voice from heaven said,   “This is my one dear Son; in him  I take great delight. Matthew 3: 13-17 

In the simplicity of why I drink coffee, or why daughter’s and granddaughter’s cut the ends off of hams… we do it because we know that when someone we love does something, and we trust that they do it with love, we in turn, want to do it exactly the same way–AND we want to let the world know why we did it!

And Miss Jan… Thank you the sharing a “cup” of coffee with me this morning. You always say what I need to hear!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “IT’S ALL ABOUT A HAM!

  1. Gina, I always enjoy your posts, and always find a blessing in them for my day. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

