THE SOUND OF SILENCE…

“The value of consistent prayer is not that He will hear us, but that we will hear Him.” ~ William McGill

This morning I couldn’t seem to get out of bed. I usually wake up at 4 a.m., but today I didn’t wake until 7.

As I pulled the covers off of my tired body all I wanted to do was pull them back up and sleep the rest of the day. After I convinced myself that today might be the day that the Clearing House Prize Patrol might knock on my door to deliver my prize check, I decided that a cup of coffee and a shower might do the trick.

Grabbing my coffee I figured I would take a moment and go sit outside and pray. My mind is always so full of ideas and excitement that I have been working very hard to slow my thoughts down and listen. Finding a quiet place to sit, I  placed my coffee on the table, and closed my eyes. Awe, peace. Within a moment it started. Birds started chirping, a car sped by my home blazing its horn, and I could hear the 101 Freeway as if it were in my front yard. Then a squirrel ran from the fence to my tree, and swiftly behind was another squirrel trying to get whatever it was that the first squirrel had within its cheeks. The two of them argued for a few minutes before they decided to climb up the tree. Within a moment I realized that the peace I was seeking, I was not going to find sitting within my beautiful yard.

My yard is very beautiful and (usually) very peaceful, but today it was anything but. When I came back into my home I looked through the window to where I was sitting and the sounds of “hectic” had disappeared. All that was left was the vision of the silence that I was seeking, and it was at that moment where I smiled.

Within the Bible there are a few verses that I have never quite understood, and this week I was asking God to show me their meaning.

Today… I got to watch as the verses played out.

The first verse is from 1st Corinthians 14:34-35 and reads:

34 Women should remain silent in the churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission, as the law says. 35 If they want to inquire about something, they should ask their own husbands at home; for it is disgraceful for a woman to speak in the church.

I realized today that what God is sharing here is that women are communicators, and we like to share our thoughts with others, but when one takes time out to worship and pray, (as I did this morning) it’s important that everyone participates. Example. I went outside to pray, and what should have happened was the birds should have stopped chirping, and the car should have drove past my home in silence. The freeway should have been diverted, and the two squirrels should have shared because “I” went outside to pray.

What I realized was that God was showing me that within churches we can sometimes fight among each other, and when chaos and disorder arrives, that is when people leave the church, run back to their homes, look through their windows,  and vow never to return again.

Does that mean that we can’t speak in a church? No. It just means that one must exercise “kindness” when we do it. Otherwise it is important that we take it to the car and share our emotions with our husbands.

The other verses I inquired about… 1 Timothy 2:12-3 and reads:

12 I do not permit a woman to teach or to assume authority over a man; she must be quiet. 13 For Adam was formed first, then Eve. 14 And Adam was not the one deceived; it was the woman who was deceived and became a sinner.

When Jesus became someone I knew well, I decided that I want to go to Bible School so I could share with others how they too could know him well. When I would share my heart with other women they would spit out this verse and share that I had no right teaching, but it wasn’t until I looked out my window this morning and saw the sounds of silence, where I realized how beautiful 1 Timothy 2:12-3 actually is.

God was not sharing that women can’t teach, He’s sharing that the silence of the sounds of service, are greater than the sounds of deception.   When I went outside I heard all the noises of everything going on around me, but when I came inside (and looked though my window) the birds were still in my trees, cars were still on the road and the squirrels were still deciding who would get the nuts, but the noise of “hectic” was gone.

And, I also realized something this morning. I became a teacher. God gave me the desires of my heart to share my heart with others, who wanted to listen. What I learned this morning is that each person is a teacher when one shares their heart, and we can only teach someone something if they want to listen.  Education is a gift because a teacher needs a student, as much as a student needs a teacher.

Well, I know of no greater teacher than Jesus, and I’m so glad I chose to be His student! What a lesson I learned today.

I can’t wait to see what question God answers for me tomorrow.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Faith

3 responses to “THE SOUND OF SILENCE…

  1. Love your wisdom on why to speak to people about God’s will and love for them. I too was excited to share my knowledge and made the mistake too often of doing this with those I cared about, but who were not open to hearing about it. I know now it came off more like a judgement of superiority and pushed them farther away from God, instead of what I was trying to do. Thank you for your wisdom.

    • Judy,

      We’ve all been there. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve said something out of excitement for what I’ve learned. The trick is to learn. Seems you and I will just continue to get up each day and “LEARN!”

      Hugs!

      Onward!

Leave a Reply

