THE GRIM WEEPER…

Seven years ago I boarded a plane, flew to New York City, and my life has never been the same.

I had never been to New York before, and the first place I wanted to go visit was Ground Zero. When I approached the stairs  I stood silently and a soft breeze came up through the corridor. As I began to walk down the stairs I could hear the echo of my tennis shoes, and that is when I realized  I was alone. I continued walking until I arrived at the fence that separated me  and the deep holes where the towers once stood, and I began to weep.

It’s amazing how different everything looks when one is up close and personal with it.

I stood for over a half-an-hour, when I felt a man touch my shoulder, “Excuse me, but I couldn’t help but see you standing here alone. Did you know someone who was in the buildings?”

“No, but I know many someones who did!” I replied.

The man could see that I had been crying so he gave me a hug, and whispered, “Remember what you see here today and instill it in your heart, but take a picture of something before you leave that makes you smile. I want you to look around my beautiful city and remember that good always prevails evil. Now, stop crying. No one likes a ‘Grim Weeper.'”

The man was right.

During my visit I took my camera everywhere. I kept looking to find that one picture that would always make my heart smile, and I thought I would find in Time Square or Broadway. I went skipping down 34th Street looking for the miracle, but it wasn’t until I turned down a street with no address, where I would find the memory I was looking for…

… And it was painted on a trash can.

Within the city of New York is a tiny street, that has the most beautiful trash can I have ever seen. Turning the corner all I could see were these eyes,  and I was immediately reminded of Matthew 18:10-14

 “See that you do not despise one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven.  “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off.  In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.

It was at that moment I realized that God was sending me a message. He found me!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

6 Comments

Filed under Faith

6 responses to “THE GRIM WEEPER…

  1. Gina, you constantly amaze me with your writings. Nobody can do this out of themselves; it must be of God. Thank you for being His pen.

  2. Great story– Very powerful. I love when God does that, and He does that all the time.

Leave a Reply

