EVERYDAY SHOULD BE CAKE DAY!

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday, and last week he approached me with the idea that we could start celebrating it a week early.  I thought it was a wonderful idea, so I made sure he had his chocolate cake, and each day leading up to yesterday something special was given to him or done for him.

It was interesting though, because when his birthday arrived yesterday, I looked in the cake pan, and he had one piece of cake left, and his birthday card to open.  I truly thought I couldn’t have planned for him to have one piece of cake left if I tried. Almost seemed symbolic.

When he arrived home from work I took him to Denny’s for dinner. Now, I know that most would not want to spend their special day at Denny’s, but Denny’s is the one restaurant that actually “remembers” you on your birthday and gives you a free meal! So, when we walked into Denny’s I told the matradee, or what most call the bus boy, that we wanted a nice booth. When we walked in there wasn’t anyone else in the restaurant, so he told us we could take our pick of seats.

My husband picked his booth and then he started laughing when he looked around and no one else was in the restaurant, “Hey Gina, the food must be great here. There’s not another person in the restaurant!”

“That’s because I bought out the restaurant so we could celebrate your birthday in style!”

We both laughed and I snapped a picture of the empty seats surrounding us. I wanted to have something to remind him of the “one year when I bought out a restaurant for him.”

When we were ready to order I motioned our waiter to come to the table or rather when he strolled over to our table and asked, “Are you ready to order yet?”

When my husband replied, “yes” our waiter then said, “And, since it’s your birthday you get a free meal.”

“I do. What do I get to choose from?” My husband asked.

“Anything in the Grand Slam section.” Our waiter replied.

My husband looked at me, smiled, and said, “Who doesn’t love to eat breakfast for dinner on their birthday!”

When we got home his phone rang and someone called to wish him a happy birthday. Then our neighbor, Vickie, came over to bring him a gift, and when we got into bed I asked, “So, did everyone call you today and wish you a happy birthday. Did you have a happy cake day?”

“Any day that has cake in it is a good day!” He said with a smile!

This morning when I awoke I read a blog  from a young girl named Avery. Avery is very ill and has an incurable illness, and today she blogged this:

Hi Everyone! My name is Avery Sax and, if you don’t know me by now, I’m pretty sick

People have been trying to come up with fundraisers for me for a while and always come up with other things to help me. Well why just fundraise for me and not others? Not just people who need help but places like our school and community. I’m thinking we should all recycle and the money we make will not only help me and our school but our world forever also. One day every month we can have a turn in date and all you really need is one bottle that is recyclable!  With all the kids in school bringing just one bottle a month, we can make money for our school and learn how each of us doing one little thing adds up to a lot.  It will also make our world a better, cleaner place. With my situation I don’t ever know if I will be here tomorrow, but I do know this is a place where others live too. It’s not just about all the future generations, it’s about caring for our schools, the earth and each other now and doing what we can to clean up and make things better because you never know what could happen. On Valentine’s Day, my school is going to go for it… we are going to clean up and show that a little bit will add up. We are collecting cans and bottles on February 14th at my school and it will be amazing to see the value of all those bottles that we throw away or see all over at sports practices and games all week.  I can’t wait to recycle with brAvery!

I wanted to share what she wrote, and ask you to follow her blog too: http://braverynow.wordpress.com/

Avery is a such a beautiful reminder of how important people are, and how important each day is, and how none of us truly know if we will be allowed another birthday. So in celebration of being given the gift of another day… HAPPY CAKE DAY!

And, I just realized something beautiful… The words that are written within the Bible  are the frosting on the cake, because I’ve never seen a cake that didn’t have something written on it!

But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4

ONWARD BY FAITH!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “EVERYDAY SHOULD BE CAKE DAY!

Leave a Reply

