THE GIFT OF THE CROSS….

I was in ninth grade when I met Sally. I don’t remember how we met, but I do know that from the moment we were introduced, we were always laughing. The only time we didn’t laugh was the day she told me she was moving. I only knew Sally (maybe) a year, but I never forgot her.

Before she moved she gave me a gift. It is a card that looks like a credit card,  and because I always wanted to remember her, and her friendship, I’ve always kept it in my wallet. I have carried her laughter with me for over 34 years.

Yesterday God put her in my heart to go and find her. Through the years I have tried to find her, even looking on all the social networks, and yesterday I looked again. This time I found her.

I wrote:

Sally,
Do you remember me? I was Gina Strum in high school. This morning I woke up, and I swear God put you on my heart, and I looked to see if I could find you on FB, and there you were. I always liked you, and within my old wallet from high school is a little card you gave me when the two of us were friends. Through the years I’ve thought of you often. You were always one of my favorite people, and always made me laugh. Hugs! Gina

A few hours later she responded:  Gina… I’m crying right now as I read this, and “yes” I have thought about you over the years too! What a wonderful God we have! I want to talk to you!

Last night I took her card, photographed it, and sent it to her, and this was her reply: I REMEMBER THIS!

Then she wrote:  Gina you are a true blessing to my life. I really have been praying for a true life long friend thru this next phase of my life, and look who the Lord chose. It’s a beautiful thing.:)

Everyone who truly knows me knows that friendships have always been the most important thing in my life, and what Sally doesn’t know is that I too was looking for the same thing.

All morning I’ve been thinking about the gift that she gave me over 34 years ago. Sally was a true friend, and she wanted to give me something that would remind me of her. On the back of the card she wrote this…

On my neck I wear a necklace that dangles a Cross, and each morning I touch my necklace and I silently “thank” God for His son, Jesus, who died on the Cross for my sins.

I had to wonder  if God allowed Jesus to die on a Cross so I would have something tangible. If Jesus died on the street, or in his sleep, there would be no Cross for me to wear around my neck as a reminder of his life and his death.

Just as Sally gave me something tangible that I would carry within my wallet, Jesus gave me something tangible that I would wear around my neck.

Each day I make an appointment with God. I make it because He’s my friend. I wanted to truly get to know Him. To understand Him, and never forget him. I also believe that Jesus’ message was the same message that Sally left me with after we became friends…

You’re a good friend. Please stay that way! 

I believe the hardest thing in life is to find a good friend, and then stay a true friend.

13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. John 15: 13-15

And to Sally, thank you for praying for me, because I was praying for you!

ONWARD TO THE CROSS!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “THE GIFT OF THE CROSS….

  1. Keep that appointment every day…there is nothing more important that you need to do.

  2. Funny you should say that. That’s exactly how I feel. Onward with a hug!

Leave a Reply

