WRONG PLACE… RIGHT TIME…

ORIGINAL PHOTO FROM MY CAR

In 2005 I took a drive that I will never forget. I drove from Grass Valley, CA. to Reno, NV, and what should have only taken a few hours ended up taking me 14.

It was April, and the weekend after Easter. Spring should have arrived, but a winter storm decided to show up instead. I had  a 4-wheel drive, so when I arrived at the check point, the officer looked at my vehicle and allowed me to continue “onward!”

About a half-hour into the drive, I realized that even my 4-wheel drive was having a hard time  pushing me through the winter snow, and with not another car in sight, and nowhere to go, I just kept going. When I arrived at the top of a mountain and had to turn right,  my car decided that it would  go left, and because of the 2-feet of snow I had no idea that I would be pushed off a cliff.

When my car finally stopped the front of my car was dangling, and I quickly turned off my engine… grabbed my purse, jumped into the back seat, and jumped again over into the storage compartment of my SUV… opened the hatch and jumped out the car. I then stood in the snow for over an hour watching my car rock back and forth.

After an hour I actually stopped worrying and simply realized that I was on top of a secluded mountain, alone, watching the snow fall, and to this day, it’s one of my most beautiful memories of the calmness within a storm.

When I was done enjoying my moment, and began to freeze I prayed. I had no idea what I was to do next or where to go. I hadn’t passed a house or a car in over a few hours, and it was at that moment I heard something off in the distance, and when it got into view I actually looked up to heaven and said, “OF COURSE YOU WOULD SEND ME A TOW TRUCK!”

The man driving the tow truck rolled down his window and said, “I’m not supposed to be here. I took a wrong turn, and if  you don’t tell my boss that I was here, I will give you a tow out of here!”

Really? Did he really take a wrong turn?

The nice young man towed me out, I got chains for my tires, and continued on my journey… arriving safely 11 hours later!

The reason I’m remembering this today is yesterday on the news a woman from Santa Barbara, CA., was in a car accident that pushed her and her two daughters over a bridge. The emergency crew was able to get her two daughters out, but each time they went to grab her, her car would sway.  They emergency crew had called for a forklift to remove the car, but  it was two hours away, and they were afraid they wouldn’t have two hours before the car fell.

A few moments later, the United States Navy Seabees, happened to be heading down the highway pulling the forklift that was needed to rescue the woman. When I saw that story it reminded me of the day that I was stuck, and out of the blue… arrived the help that was needed.

It’s stories  like these, that remind me that God always know where we are and what we’re going through, and that help is always on its way.

The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen.  2 Timothy 4:18

ONWARD TO GLORY!

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “WRONG PLACE… RIGHT TIME…

  1. Wow! I’ve done Donner Pass alone in the middle of night during a total whiteout and no traffic. Went off without a hitch, glad to say. I’m so happy you were being watched over!

    • That trip was amazing. Much more happened, and yes… I was watched over. I actually got stuck on Donner Pass for hours. I watched trees fall, an avalanche, and those of us with food and water in our cars were feeding those with no food and water in theirs. I’m so glad I went, and I’m even happier that I survived. HUGS!

Leave a Reply

