IT’S TIME TO MAKE SHIFT HAPPEN!

Last week I was invited to church by a friend. This invitation was not a normal invite. It was the kindest request I have ever received, and was sent through an email. Now, this person knows me by Gina, but when the invite arrived it  was addressed to  Mrs. Gippner-Woods.

I graciously accepted the invite and yesterday I drove to Los Angeles so I could be a part of the service, and I was reminded of something.

There are many people within the world. Each one of us are born to want to fit in. We want to be loved and accepted. There are groups for a reason. We each like different music, movies, and  colors. Some people like cats and some people like dogs. Some like meat and some are vegetarians. Some like to swim, and some don’t like to go near the water…. Yes, there are so many things that make us who we are, and when the Pastor said,  “It’s time to make shift happen!” I realized that in order to do that, I would have to change!

When one becomes a Christian they do so because they chose to. I’ve never read one story in the Bible where someone was drug by their hair to the feet of Jesus. Jesus doesn’t work that way, only people. We are the one’s who feel the need to tell other people what we think, how we think, and why we think. Whom to believe in and why, and I know for me… the only reason I believe in Jesus is not because someone told me to, but because I took the time to research the Bible. I got to know who God said He was, and who He said Jesus was. The most important journey I’ve ever taken in my life was to read about who Jesus said he was, and why he came. It wasn’t until I got to know him through his Words where I made the decision to believe him.

That’s what I learned yesterday… “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

On January 15, 1929, Martin Luther King, Jr. was born. He was born to bring the message of racial equality and to end discrimination. He too came to make “shift” happen!

On April 3, 1968, King gave his last speech, (making reference to a bomb threat that was made on his life.) King said the following:

“And then I got to Memphis. And some began to say the threats, or talk about the threats that were out. What would happen to me from some of our sick white brothers? Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land. So I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

On April 4, 1968, Martin Luther King, Jr. life was taken from him.

It’s interesting to me because both Jesus and Martin Luther King, Jr., both wanted to live another day, but that wasn’t possible.  Both seemed to  love the people within the world so much that they were not afraid to keep sharing their message of love and hope within the world, and both died for it!

Yep…  IT’S TIME TO MAKE SHIFT HAPPEN!

And the only way to do that is… each person needs to repent for their thoughts and actions of another, 17 … From that time on Jesus began to preach, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven has come near.” Matthew 4:17

ONWARD TO MY KNEES!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “IT’S TIME TO MAKE SHIFT HAPPEN!

  1. Great post, Gina. I’m glad today has been set aside to honor such a great man — a great warrior for Divine Love.

    Many spiritual leaders, such as Martin Luther King Jr., believe humanity’s purpose in life is to seek out and to manifest Divine Love — goodness and compassion — regardless of which flag of faith we carry.

    I recently read the words of a spiritual leader who believes that when we are born, we are given a tiny piece of God — Divine Love, if you will — so that we may experience our connection to God; and when we share our connection to God with others, we are forming a network of Divine Love. As a result of humans trying to explain and institutionalize our connection to God, the world’s religions were formed, creating division and confusion and conflict.

    Yet, even without naming a faith, we are all still connected and humanity is still seeking to understand the Mystery of the Divine, collectively as well as individually. Spirituality is growing around the planet even as institutionalized religions crumble and fall.

    Even scientists are seeking for answers, revealing that our bodies are comprised of all the same elements as the universe — the stars; and that we are all decedents of a single family, a family that split apart to populate the world and is coming back together again through integration.

    We are all bestowed with a piece of God. We are all Star Seeds. We are all Brothers and Sisters. We are all seekers of Divine Love.

    We are living in a Golden Age of Awareness, an awareness of who we are, what we are and where we are going. We are witnessing a great family reunion with our original “family,” with our Universe, with our God. We are all looking for Divine Love.

    We are witnessing the great cosmic Circle of Life that connects All That Is.

    Gina, you are a great seeker of Divine Love and a great teacher. Thank you for being who you are. ❤

  2. Onward on our knees, where our STRENGTH is unlimited, because on our knees, we acknowledge that HE is in control, and HE loves us perfectly and without measure.

Leave a Reply

