A TIME TO DANCE!

Last night my husband came home from work, and the first thing he said was, “Hey, I brought you home a present!”

My husband is a contractor, and it doesn’t matter who he works for his clients end up becoming his friends, and they give him things to either keep or haul away.

So, last night I smiled and said, “Really? What did you bring me?”

“Wait here. I’ll be right back!” A moment later he walked in carrying a BOSE Stereo. How did he know that I always wanted of those?

We hooked it up and then he grabbed my Eagles CD out of the case, inserted it into the stereo, hit play, and within a moment both of us smiled! Seriously, I never knew the Eagles could sound that great. Then the song Hotel California  started playing and I immediately was transformed back to 1976. My best friend, Connie, and I used to stay up all night listening to that album, burning vanilla incense, painting our nails. Oh… to be young again.

This morning my husband went to work and I hit the play button again, and then (without thinking) I just started dancing. The moment I started dancing I noticed that I started smiling. The moment I started smiling I noticed that for a moment life seemed new, possible, and without worry.

There’s been times that I have attended churches where dancing was not permitted. I actually had a few meetings with Pastor’s to discuss the reasons “why” and to this day I have yet to receive an answer.

My question was always the same, If the Bible states….

There is a Time for Everything

1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance, 
5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8

A time to mourn and a time to dance…. I can honestly write that from this day forward  I’m no longer going to mourn the stresses of the day, but I’m going to dance because a new day has arrived!

NOW, ONWARD TO DANCING!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “A TIME TO DANCE!

Leave a Reply

