THE 4 A.M. EPIPHANY!

This morning I popped out of bed, excited. I finally get it!

For the past (going on) seven years, I have been working full-time on a stuff, plush toy, that God inspired my heart to create for hospitalized children. For the past (going on) seven years, I have shared Owie with thousands and thousands of people.  KABC News in Los Angeles runs a 30 second segment on him, and has for over a year now. I send out newsletters to thousands of people each month. I go and speak about him.  I write about him on my Facebook page. Owie even has his own Facebook and Twitter page. Yes, I tell everyone I know about Owie and the need for comfort, and all because I believe with all my heart that love changes everything!

When I first started Owie I thought everyone would want to give a gift of comfort to a child who had a terminal illness. What I quickly learned was not everyone does. Not everyone understands what’s it’s like to be ill and alone, or what it’s like to have a child, or what it’s like to even take a moment to think about a child who is hospitalized. If I had a dime for every time someone said, “I don’t want to think about a child who is ill. That makes me sad!” I would have enough money to comfort at least 1,000 children.

I now understand why God called me to do what I do. My whole life I’ve been an archaeologist digging up the truths that are written within the Bible. The one thing I’ve learned is that sometimes people dig within the wrong place to find proof that God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit are real.

Each morning I wake up and I read my Bible. I’m always looking for that next clue of what God is trying to show me, and this morning I found a monumental find!

But how can they call on him to save them unless they believe in him? And how can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear about him unless someone tells them? And how will anyone go and tell them without being sent? That is what the Scriptures mean when they say, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” 

But not everyone welcomes the Good News, for Isaiah the prophet said, “Lord, who has believed our message?” Yet faith comes from listening to this message of good news— the Good News about Christ.

But what about the Jews? Have they actually heard the message? Yes, they have:

“The message of God’s creation has gone out to everyone, and its words to all the world.” Romans 10: 14-18

This morning when I read: “The message of God’s creation has gone out to everyone…” I completely understood what was being said. I completely understand why God has allowed Owie to be such a hard message to share…  had it been easy I would not have understood what I just read.

There’s proof within this passage that Jesus truly existed. Why? Because God DID create him.

Just as God allowed me to create Owie, I too love the creation of my heart, and the message that he brings. Because of that, I share him with everyone, but just like Jesus… Owie isn’t received by everyone!

When God introduces Himself to us, He does so in a way that we can understand. I’ve come to believe that the Bible is called the Living Bible because it must come alive within us. I just experienced Romans 10, and I have to share that it only took me seven years to get here. What a quick lesson that was!

ONWARD TO THE NEXT LESSON!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “THE 4 A.M. EPIPHANY!

  1. Epiphanies are great! I suppose the one thing people want to think about even less than hurting children who need comfort is a savior who came to cure an owie so that they could live. Better to medicate my need with all sorts of diversions.

    • Thank you Steven for your post.

      It’s amazing how God uses all of that though. I’ve been to many an AA Meeting with someone that I loved. They only medicated because they didn’t understand that God loved them too, but once they did… God turned it around and used it all for good. God knows what each person is going to need to go through to find their way home. Each road is so different, and some of us take longer to find the right road than others.

      HAPPY TRAVELLING!

      Hugs Steven!

Leave a Reply

