THE WEDDING DRESS…

Yesterday I was thinking about the meaning of family, and decided I would go online and look up the definition(s), and this is some of what I found:

1. A fundamental social group in society typically consisting of one or two parents and their children.

2. Two or more people who share goals and values, have long-term commitments to one another, and reside usually in the same dwelling place.

3. All the members of a household under one roof.

4. A group of persons sharing common ancestry.

5. Lineage, especially distinguished lineage.

And then I read: 6. A locally independent organized crime unit, as of the Cosa Nostra. I had to smile when I read that one because it seems that all families start out trying to do and say the right things, but at times, can end up— not nice!

Over Christmas my daughter got engaged. The question was supposed to be posed to her in front of her family, but because someone in our family chose to behave badly, she and her fiancé  chose to drive 8 hours home (on Christmas Eve) to avoid anymore arguments that may transpire.

When Christmas day arrived we received a phone call that she had made it home safely, and was engaged. Her whole family missed it, and I had to quickly remember forgiveness!

Yesterday I was working when I received a text message from my niece. When I opened the message there was my daughter in a beautiful wedding dress. My daughter, niece and a few of her friends, gathered and went with her to see which dress she would wear come July. With each dress she tried on a picture would appear, and with each picture arrived a beautiful smile. At one point I realized it wasn’t the dresses that made her beautiful, but her smile.

Family is interesting. When a person decides to marry they marry the person they believe is going to be the one person who they will share the rest of their life with. They might buy a home, have children, travel the world, but each of us chooses that one that “we” believe will be the right one.  The hard part arrives when we bring the right one home, and we expect everyone else to see what we see too!

What I’ve been learning is that God’s true definition of love is the only way that love can survive, because as long as there are people in the world, mistakes will happen. And, as long as unconditional love is practiced… LOVE WILL ABOUND!

This morning when I awoke I asked God to bless my family with the gift of unconditional love.  To forgive the hurts, and  allow each one to move on within their life with a smile in their heart. I also asked Him to bless my daughter’s marriage, and let her heart know that no matter what decisions she makes in life, I will always love her, unconditionally!

The Bible describes the state of real, unconditional love in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient; love doesn’t envy. Love doesn’t brag, is not proud, doesn’t behave itself inappropriately, doesn’t seek it’s own way, is not provoked, takes no account of evil; doesn’t rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, endures all things. LOVE NEVER FAILS….

ONWARD TO FAITH, HOPE AND LOVE!

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “THE WEDDING DRESS…

  1. Thank you, Gina…each day in friendship with you and your blog is a treasured blessing.

  2. THANKS for sharing Gina….I hurt so bad sometimes because my family will not let certain hurts go…and I PRAY DAILY that they have UNCONDITIONAL LOVE for one another and realize that the past/the hurts make the person who they are…It is their chapter in their life! ALL of our BROKENESS are GIFTS from GOD and make us who we are….LOVEABLE!!!! ❤

    • Kerri,
      The trick to this one is this is where you must forgive them for not forgiving you, and believe with all your heart that one day they will understand that life is all about “trial” and “error” and “forgiveness!” I know that is hard at times to do, but in the simplicity of life when one person hurts us we tend to hang onto that hurt and we begin to judge them for them not understanding us.

      Just know that when the time is right, forgiveness will find its way to your door. I PROMISE!

      I love you!
      Now, join me Kerri. ONWARD BY FAITH!

Leave a Reply

