HOW DEADLY ARE SINS?

Yesterday I wasn’t feeling well, but tried to see how much work I could get done.  After a few hours my body won and I turned on my television, grabbed my blanket, pillow and laid down.

Within minutes I was asleep and when I woke up a few hours later there was a movie on. I wasn’t in arm’s length of the remote so I just pulled my blanket up and watched what was on. The movie was called  “Bedazzled”  and it was a  funny movie about a guy who makes a deal with the devil to get the girl of his dreams.

The devil’s employees are the seven deadly sins:

  1. Pride is an excessive belief in one’s own abilities.
  2. Envy is wanting what others have, be it status, abilities, or possessions.
  3. Gluttony is the desire to eat or consume more than you require.
  4. Lust is a powerful craving for such as sex, power and money.
  5. Anger is the loss of rational self-control and the desire to harm others.
  6. Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain.
  7. Sloth is laziness and the avoidance of work.

I slept through most of the movie and was only introduced to three of the seven deadly sins. I saw Pride, who was a man who wore a Vanity Mirror in front of him, and kept walking into things because he was too busy looking at himself, and Lust.  Lust was played by Rachel Welch. Every man wanted her, but couldn’t have her. And anger. Anger was played by the Devil himself.

During one segment Dudley Moore’s character asked the Devil why he got thrown out of heaven, and the Devil said, “I’m God, and I’m sitting on this big Thrown, now you be me. The prettiest angel is all of heaven.  Now, what I want you to do is sing to me and tell me how wonderful I am and how much you adore me. I also want you to dance while you’re singing to me!”

Dudley Moore began to sing and dance, until he couldn’t sing or dance anymore and then he said, “Hey, I’m tired of singing and dancing for you. Why don’t we trade places, and you sing and dance for me!”

The Devil replied, “Now you see what happened to me! I got tired of worshiping Him, and when I suggested that we trade places, He kicked me out! ”

Looking back on my life, I know that at one time or another, I have struggled with each one of those deadly sins, and they all surfaced when I thought I should get more, or I deserved better. It wasn’t until I understood the meaning of God’s love and that He was the better, was I able to understand the consequences  and forgiveness of my actions.

Maybe instead of a New Year’s Resolution this year, I’m going to re-evaluate  the 7 Deadly Sins list and see which one I need to work on! I want to make sure I never say to God… “Hey, I’m tired of singing and dancing for you. Why don’t we trade places, and you sing and dance for me!”

16 There are six things the LORD hates,
seven that are detestable to him:

17 haughty eyes,
a lying tongue,
hands that shed innocent blood,

18 a heart that devises wicked schemes,
feet that are quick to rush into evil,

19 a false witness who pours out lies
and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers. Proverbs 6: 16-19

ONWARD TO DANCING!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “HOW DEADLY ARE SINS?

  1. morganpardee

    Don’t be so hard on yourself, Gina. No one is perfect, and I don’t believe we’re expected to be perfect.

    Instead of making vows to continue to dance,perhaps we’re meant to just rest, to quiet our minds and just BE.

    You know what I love about the word “heart?” It reminds us of which voice to listen to when our minds are cluttered with “stuff.”

    Remember what I wrote about the Holy Names we humans apply to a higher power? And my decision to use the word “It” when describing God? How the lowercase “t” reminded me of a cross or stick figure?

    Look at the word “heart” this way and see if you can see what I see:

    “Hear” +”t.” Hear … the divine in all of us.

    Sometimes the only way we can hear our Higher Power is to rest our bodies through meditation, to close off our senses bombarding us with distractions, and focusing our minds on our breathing and beating heart. Just BE … be at rest within, and be at rest with Him.

Leave a Reply

