LIVE EACH DAY LIKE IT’S NEW!

Since December 26th the television has been running all the weight loss commercials, and tips on how I can begin to change myself beginning the first of January. The news has had segments on ways that I can organize my home and finances, and I even read something that shared how I can even inspire my dogs to be better dogs in the coming year.

Yesterday I read more about the reason we celebrate the New Year and found it interesting that there are historians who feel that our New Year’s Eve celebrations can be traced back to an ancient Roman observance around the time of the Winter Solstice in December called “Saturnalia.”  This pagan holiday was known for totally letting go all discipline and rules for behavior and was known to get out of hand (just like some New Year’s Eve celebrations today).

I had to smile when I read that the tradition of making noise was started because those in ancient times believed that the noise would scare off evil spirits. I believe that when one lets go of all discipline and rules for behavior that is when evil arrives.

And the song… “Auld Lang Syne”  what does this song mean?

In the Scottish dialect, auld lang syne  is “old long since” — aka “the good old days.”   The traditional lyrics begin with, “Should old acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind…”  And the entire song’s message merely means to just forget about the past and look ahead to the new year with hope.

It’s truly interesting to me how important it is for each person to get a do-over, and so many people truly look forward to New Year’s Eve so they can get one.

But, in the grand scheme of life, I’ve lost many friends this year who won’t be here on January 1, and I believe that is why Jesus wanted us to live each day as a new day and not wait until the New Year to begin.

My New Year’s Day starts today. I’m not waiting until Sunday, and I’m going  to live each day as if it’s my last. I’ll get up each morning (Lord willing) and will do my very best to not wait for another holiday to do the right things. Each day will be a new day, and each night will be a celebration because I survived the new day!  I’m so excited. It seems I now have something to look forward to each day!

And, Romans 10:9-11
That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. As the Scripture says, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame.” (The perfect New Year’s Eve promise!)

ONWARD TO THE CELEBRATION!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

