I SAW FORGIVENESS!

Yesterday I sat down to blog my Appointment with God, but for some reason I couldn’t write.  There was something I wasn’t seeing.

Being a Christian isn’t easy. We are born with five senses: hearing, sight, touch, smell and taste. Faith arrives when one believes in someone we can’t see, touch, hear, smell or taste.

Or can we?

Since the day I accepted Christ into my heart I’m constantly asked by others how I can believe in someone I can’t see. The other sentiment I hear often is Why would anyone want to believe in a God who would allow those who hurt others to enter heaven. I don’t want to go there if God allows those people to enter!

Hum!

Christmas Eve for me was awful. I got to watch someone I love behave very badly, and when this person realized that they behaved badly the apologies arrived. It was interesting to me because I’ve never witnessed one person ask for forgiveness from others and every single person accepted it, even adding… We know you, and we know you didn’t mean to behave that way, and all was forgiven.

All day yesterday I pondered what I had witnessed.

LOVE!

Each and every person behaves badly at one time or another, and that is why Christ died for us. He knew that even the best of the best have their moments of weakness and do and say things that hurt others, but the gift is when the person understands what they have done and they are able to simply acknowledge their wrongs to those they have hurt, and the gift arrives when one says, “All is forgiven!”

I think what threw me off was that not one person had anything negative to say about this person. I’ve never seen that before. Usually there is someone who continues to hold onto the anger, and because of that, the hurts linger.

In some ways what I thought was the worst Christmas I’ve ever experienced, turned out to be the most beautiful moment I’ve ever witnessed, because I SAW forgiveness.

And from this day forward if anyone ever asks me how I can believe in a God I can’t see I’m simply going to smile and say, “Oh… I saw him one Christmas Eve, and He arrived within forgiveness!”

If anyone reads this tiny blog and someone has hurt you in any way, has apologized, and you haven’t been able to accept it, I would like to ask you to do so, because I want you to see what I saw. Forgiving someone is truly the greatest gift Christ gave us, and it’s true. Once we ask God for forgiveness, He forgives us and moves on. We are the ones who linger.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103: 11-12

ONWARD BY SIGHT!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “I SAW FORGIVENESS!

  1. June

    Thank you Gina for this blog and for your words and insights. You are such a blessing for me and I want you to know that! June (edbdjune from MMO)

  2. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    I suppose the message God was about to put into your mind needed more space than some of the others. HE was clearing out room to allow HIS extra large message to fit and be processed. Judging by the message you shared, HE did just right! Great thoughts, dear Gina.

Leave a Reply

