THE ORNAMENT OF LOVE….

The past week I’ve been talking to many people who find Christmas a depressing holiday, and  it’s been reminding me of one Christmas Eve, after my divorce, when I was alone on Christmas Eve.

I lived in the country and my neighbors were not close by, so I decided to turn off my television, and make myself a cup of warm cocoa. I then grabbed a piece of paper, my pen and wrote myself this story. It’s funny because when I was done writing it I felt better, and I no longer felt alone.

When the sun arrived Christmas morning I felt that I had spent my Christmas Eve with those I would never meet, but knew they existed, because I was one of them.

If anyone reads this tiny blog who is alone this Christmas Eve, please accept this “Ornament of Love” and know that  my heart will be thinking of you. As long as someone is thinking of you… you are never alone!

 

“The Ornament of Love”

On a cold winter’s night one Christmas Eve, a woman sat warming herself by the fire wondering if she still believed. As she thought to herself her eyes filled with tears, Christmas is by far the loneliest night of the year!

When I was a child my family and friends would arrive at our home with presents in hand. Smiles, laughter and words of good cheer…. I could tell by the joy that Christmas was here.

As night turned into morn, the woman began to feel as if she were reborn. No longer would she allow herself to feel the sadness, but decided Christmas represented Goodwill and Gladness.

But what do I have that others would want? I know there’s a widow who lives down the street; a family of four with nothing to eat.  A man all alone who eats by himself with plenty of food that sits on his shelf. What could I do to bring them together, and do I even want to go out in this horrible weather?”

Over in the corner under her Christmas tree sat an unopened box of tinsel she must not have seen.

I’ve got an idea….

She picked up the box and went to her desk and began to write: Dear Friends, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.  You’re invited to my home for good cheer. My tree top is empty I can’t reach it alone, so if you would like too, please stop by my home. I need you to hang this tinsel high upon my tree, to remind me of what I could no longer see. This tiny gift I leave for you… Signed, Sincerely, Me

And when she had finished she smiled and thought, There is hope in Christmas. It might not be lost.

Attaching the tinsel to each little note, she quickly hid them in her old winter coat. She walked round the neighborhood quiet as could be. Leaving each one on the doorknobs where they were plainly seen.

Back to her home she waited and as darkness reappeared she began to hear footsteps, laughter and good cheer. The widow came bearing gifts of things from her past; the family of four came to her door happy to be asked. The lonely man summoned for a helping hand. He had brought so much food that he could hardly stand.

And as they gathered round her tree the woman was reminded that Christmas lives in the hearts of those who still believe.  AND as long as one is remembered…. Christmas lives on in December!

Now, if on your street is a lonely heart. One that sits quietly alone in the dark… Please take a note and leave it with care, a gift from your heart so they know you are there.

Merry Christmas everyone!

1 After Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the time of King Herod, Magi from the east came to Jerusalem 2 and asked, “Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star when it rose and have come to worship him.”

3 When King Herod heard this he was disturbed, and all Jerusalem with him. 4 When he had called together all the people’s chief priests and teachers of the law, he asked them where the Messiah was to be born. 5 “In Bethlehem in Judea,” they replied, “for this is what the prophet has written:

6 “‘But you, Bethlehem, in the land of Judah,
are by no means least among the rulers of Judah;
for out of you will come a ruler
who will shepherd my people Israel.’”

7 Then Herod called the Magi secretly and found out from them the exact time the star had appeared. 8 He sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search carefully for the child. As soon as you find him, report to me, so that I too may go and worship him.”

9 After they had heard the king, they went on their way, and the star they had seen when it rose went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. 10 When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. 11 On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. 12 And having been warned in a dream not to go back to Herod, they returned to their country by another route. Matthew 2: 1-11

ONWARD TO GIVING GIFTS!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “THE ORNAMENT OF LOVE….

  1. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    I have had such Christmas times in the past. Feeling sorry for myself wasn’t cutting it, so I invested myself in doing things for others whom I knew to be struggling with issues far more pressing than my own. Of all the Christmas celebrations I have known, those were among the most blessed. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

