THE CHRISTMAS MAILBOX…

Three months ago I went up north to visit my son, his wife and my granddaughter. Being a grandmother is truly the best gift that God gives to parents. While I loved raising all three of my children, there is something “grand” about being the mother to the father who has been given the gift of a child. I get to enjoy watching him go through all the things I did when I was raising him.

I love to watch him as he watches over her.

While I was visiting my family my granddaughter came up to me and said, “Come on Mamaw, let’s go for a walk.”

The two of us grabbed her dog and down the street we walked. Every minute or so my granddaughter would point to something and say, “Mamaw… isn’t that beautiful!” The whole walk was beautiful. She didn’t point out one thing that wasn’t!

As we were walking home I asked, “So, Cady… what do you want for Christmas?”

She looked over, smiled and said, “I want a mailbox!”

“You want a mailbox? Do you know what a mailbox is?”

“Mamaw, we’ve been passing them. I showed you how beautiful they are!”

“Well, what kind of mailbox do you want?” I asked.

“Purple. I want a purple mailbox!”

When we returned home from our walk I told my son and daughter-in-law that their daughter wanted a mailbox for Christmas and we all laughed.

A month ago my granddaughter came for a visit and again I asked, “Cady. What do you want for Christmas?”

Her reply… “I told you. I want a mailbox!”

I looked at my husband and he said, “What! She told you… she wants a mailbox!”

Last week my husband and I went to Home Depot and we purchased a black mailbox, and some purple paint. My husband  painted it purple and I added a few personal touches and some fun gifts.

For some reason that mailbox has turned into my favorite gift of all time. I’ve made many gifts for others, but I’ve never had someone want something so profound!

I was thinking that her whole life she has been away from part of her family. When she lived in my neck-of-the-woods, her other grandmother lived in another, and would send her gifts via the mail. When she moved to her other grandmother’s neck-of-the-woods, she would receive gifts from me, via the mail.

I believe that she understands the power of what lies within the mailbox.

Unfortunately so many Post Offices will be closing down shortly, and in many ways that saddens me. Now, with the advancement of the Internet, and how we pay all our bills online, we have created convenience for us, but are now downsizing people who have been delivering the mail through the rain, snow, sleet and hail.

My granddaughter reminded me that love also arrives within my mailbox.

I used to get tons of hand-written Christmas Cards each year, and this year I received five.  And, I too was guilty. I purchased them, but then time got the best of me, so all those I love will receive their cards in January. Because I am going to send them!

I’m so glad that my granddaughter reminded me of the beauty of a simple mailbox.

It’s not the box, but what lies within it!

Let such a one think this, that, such as we are in word by letters when we are absent, such will we be also in deed when we are present. 2nd Corinthians 10:11

ONWARD TO SENDING LETTERS!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “THE CHRISTMAS MAILBOX…

  1. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    Priceless insight, from the mouth of a babe!

Leave a Reply

