A MEMORABLE TREE…

In December of 1999 I went to visit my grandparents. My grandfather was in the hospital and after my grandmother and I made sure that he was sleeping for the night we came home. My grandfather and I were very close, and it wasn’t until he was hospitalized where my grandmother and I were able to sit down and catch up on time that seemed to be passing by quickly.

When we arrived at her house she immediately went into her kitchen and began making us dinner. My grandmother wasn’t the best cook, but everything she made always seemed to taste perfect. I believe I loved her cooking because she loved to cook, and not because it actually had a memorable taste.

After we finished eating she asked me to help her get down her Christmas Tree picture that she had made. It took her years to put the tree together that was lined in black velvet and the ornaments were made out discarded jewelry. My grandmother would comb the Flea Markets to find a piece of  jewelry that was missing its match, and when she found what she was looking for, she would come home and glue it to her masterpiece.

When the two of us placed the tree over her fireplace she looked at me and said, “Gina, when I pass I want you to have my tree. I love my tree, and I want you to have it.”  She then plugged in the lights that were attached to the tree and told me that normally she doesn’t light the tree until Christmas Eve, but since she wanted to show it to me lit, she plugged it in and I “awed” in amazement of the beauty.

February 24, 2004, my grandmother passed away and now the Christmas Tree belongs to me.  When it was given to me I noticed that my grandmother had written my name on the back. Yesterday I placed the tree on my wall, and on Christmas Eve I will plug it in, and light up the memory of one of the best evenings I ever spent with my grandmother.

Yesterday I placed this scripture verse on the back of the picture, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” Psalm 119:105

And underneath the scripture I wrote, “If you understand the meaning… you can have the picture.” My two daughters have asked me if they can have the picture. I’m sure they will learn how to share.

ONWARD TO FINDING AN EXTENSION CORD!

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “A MEMORABLE TREE…

  1. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    Please take a good picture of this beauty once you light it up!

  2. Karen

    It is beautiful! i posted a picture of one I found in a church by my house recently.I had never seen one before, now I have seen two! Thanks for sharing.
    I love it.
    Merry Christimas from Michigan

Leave a Reply

