HAVE YOU EVER TEBOWED?

Yesterday my husband and I went and spent the afternoon with our son, daughter and their friends watching football. I have never been a big fan of football, but have always enjoyed watching others watch the game. What I like the most is how each person I know has their favorite team, and when I’ve asked them why they pick that team over another, each person seems to have their reason.

My son’s favorite team is the Chargers. When he  joined the Marines and moved to San Diego, he had season tickets and he and his friends would gather for a few hours to watch the greatness of the players and be part of the excitement of the community.  He is forever a Charger’s fan.

My daughter’s boyfriend, Nick, is a Chicago Bears Fan. He was raised in Chicago, and is such an avid sports enthusiast that I was sad to watch his face when his team lost yesterday. Nothing worse than watching a man feel defeated.

Now, my husband has always been a Dallas Cowboys fan. When we were kids the Cowboys would travel from Texas to Southern California to practice, and my husband would go and watch them. To this day he always says, “Who trades teams?”

I’ve always been a Green Bay Packers fan, not because I understand the game, but because I like the way their community owns the team. The Packers are the only non-profit, community-owned major league professional sports team in the United States. To me… that’s a team!

Yesterday we watched the Denver Broncos play the Chicago Bears, but what I noticed was there was more chat about Tim Tebow than the game. The commentators shared pictures of Tim doing “The Tebow” where after he accomplished something amazing he immediately would get down on one knee, put his fist to his forehead, and give thanks to God for allowing him to do the impossible.

Then this morning I woke up and the news was sharing “The Tebow.” The  commentator shared that many are asking him to get off his knees and stop “Tebowing!”  They then showed pictures of other celebrities mocking him in their “Tebow” pose.

I had to smile….

Because when one thinks about it, football fans are much like “faithful fans” of Jesus. You either believe in your team or you don’t!

The good thing about Tebow is we all know he is NOT lukewarm…. “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3:15-16

ONWARD TO DO THE TEBOW!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “HAVE YOU EVER TEBOWED?

  1. Good thoughts…among a sea of posts on this guy! You are right. Win or lose, there is nothing Luke warm about his conviction.

Leave a Reply

