THE IMPORTANCE OF PLANNING….

About three months ago my husband came home and said, “Gina. I finally have enough wood to make the white fence you want for your garden.” He was redoing a patio cover and the man asked him to haul away the discarded cover, so he hauled it to our house.

The next day Kenny got to work and built a beautiful garden fence, and a gate, and my job was to repaint it white so that it was perfect. When it was complete the two of us went to Home Depot, and purchased vegetables and packets of seeds. I told Kenny that it was a little late in the season to plant tomatoes, but the garden expert convinced me that we live in Southern California, and that the weather here was perfect for planting… anytime of the year!

I came home and planted.

Within a few weeks my tiny seeds had popped their head out from beneath the dirt and I knew that soon we would be eating summer vegetables in the winter. I watered, weeded and cultivated my tiny plants until they began to flower. A month ago I picked the first of my cucumbers, squash, and beans but realized that one harvest wouldn’t cover the costs for what it cost us to plant and water.

So… I waited.

The next batch flowered and then the frost arrived. Yesterday I checked my garden (as I do daily) and realized that while Southern California’s weather is lovely during any season… there is still a season to plant!

It’s true what Paul states in the Bible… Let all things be done decently and in order. 1 Corinthians 14:40

NOW ONWARD TO THE RIGHT SEASON!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “THE IMPORTANCE OF PLANNING….

  1. phillipehayes

    Wonderful post Gina. 🙂

  2. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    So much for the “expert” at Home Depot…but you still enjoyed the first fruits of your labor.

    • I know Gary. I’ve been farming the majority of my life, and I knew that people will sell anything, even it’s not for the right season. I just had to try. Now I will let it go to seed and next year the veggies will arrive right on time! HUGS!

Leave a Reply

