I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

A few weeks ago I read that Mitch Albom’s book, Have a Little Faith, was turned into a movie and would be premiering last night. For the past few weeks I’ve been waiting, and when it arrived I grabbed my popcorn, my favorite blanket and when I was as comfortable as one could be, I clicked my television on.

When the movie started I smiled. Words that were written were now on my television screen, and I would be able to enjoy the story within two hours.

While I was watching the movie my husband came in and said, “Are you watching another Christmas movie?”
“Yes,” I replied, but this story is different. It’s not fictional, but the story of a man and his journey of how he was drawn back to his faith.  

As the movie was playing I yelled out to my husband. “ I love Mitch Albom. He’s such a brilliant writer, and for a man… he’s a rare find. He shares his heart with words, and isn’t afraid to show that real men have soft hearts, and that  it’s okay to go looking for the truth. I pray that one day I get to meet him, and maybe I’ll be able to share the truths of my heart, just as Mitch has been given the gift to share his.”

When the movie was almost over my phone rang. It was my friend, Barker, who lives in Michigan, and she was driving home from a fundraising event she had attended. As she was telling me about her evening she was sharing all the wonderful people who attended, and it wasn’t until I heard her say the name Mitch Albom where I interrupted her.

“Wait a minute. Are you saying that you got to meet Mitch Albom this evening?”

“Yes. Do you know who he is?” she replied.

“Of course I do. He’s one of my favorite author’s, and when you called I was watching his movie, Have a Little Faith. I’ve always wanted to meet him. I can’t believe it. I just said to my husband tonight, ‘I pray I get to meet him, and maybe I’ll be able to share the truths of my heart, just as Mitch has been given the gift to share his.’”

When the two of us hung up I came running to my husband and said, “You’re not going to believe this, but Barker just met Mitch Albom!”

“Then why are you so excited? If you were the one that wanted to meet him, and Barker got to meet him, than shouldn’t Barker be the one jumping for joy?” he asked.

“Well, she did jump for joy when I told her that I wanted to meet him, and she got to meet him for me.”

My husband shook his head and said, “Gina, that doesn’t make any sense to me, but if you’re excited that Barker got to meet someone who you wanted to meet, than I’m excited for you!”

As my husband walked away I stood for a second and pondered what he had said.  I thought about a time, long ago, when Jesus walked the earth. Here was a man who many wanted to meet, but only a selected few actually got to meet him personally. It was through their stories that have been handed down to me that I’m able to read from selected books in the Bible of those who met Jesus personally.  Just as Barker was sharing her encounter with me about meeting, Mitch Albom, those who personally met Jesus are still to this day, doing the same.

Maybe that’s where division arrives within religion. I’ve had many people say to me that if Jesus is real than they want to “see” him.  We see him each day through the hearts of others. The stories they share. The love they give. The way we get to meet others through the stories of others, but to see Jesus, we must be able to smile at the thought that someone got to experience something that our heart wanted to experience.

I may never meet Mitch Albom, but… I can be blessed that Barker was able to do something that I wanted to do, and once my heart was glad… that was when the blessing arrived.

I challenge everyone today to look at those around you who are doing things that you want to do. Only today when you look at them, don’t look at them with envy, but listen to their story so they can share their gift with you.

And the greatest gift of all is this. Even though Jesus isn’t physically walking the earth today he had friends who loved him. Those who took the time to write down their story of how they met him and all because they simply wanted to share their moment with YOU!

Happy is the man who finds wisdom, and the man who gains understanding. Proverbs 3:13

And, if something wonderful happened to someone you know, or to you, please share it with me in the comments. I would love to be happy with you!

ONWARD TO HEAR THE BLESSINGS OF THE DAY!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

  1. My something wonderful was reading this commentary, and wondering at the incredible blessing you are to others through your writing, inspired by God himself.

Leave a Reply

