ARE YOU LOST?

Yesterday afternoon I got in my car and headed towards my daughter’s home, when I took I wrong turn. I was supposed to stay on the 101, but without thinking I moved onto the 405. As I was driving I kept looking for the name of the exit she told me to get off of, and for the life of me I couldn’t find it, so I kept driving. It wasn’t until I saw a sign that read: Los Angeles Airport that I turned around.

When I got back on the freeway (heading north) I continued to look for the sign, and when I didn’t find it I got off the freeway and called my daughter.

“Shae, I can’t find that sign anywhere for your exit and I’m lost!”

“Well, don’t you have your GPS?” she asked.

“Yes, but it’s not working.”

“Use the one in your phone, and then follow the dot on the screen.”

I hung up and got to work plugging in her address, and was excited when it pointed and two dots appeared. I had never used my phone’s GPS, so I did what Shae said, and I followed the dot.

The dot and I drove around Los Angeles for about 45 minutes, and then I realized I had just gone in a circle so I pulled over and called my daughter. When Shae answered the phone the first thing she said was, “MOM… WHERE ARE YOU?”

“I don’t know! I’m near to where I began, and I’m frustrated and I’m going home!” I said.

“No mom. It’s okay. Tell me where you are now, and I will lead you to my home. I want to make sure that you’re okay and you don’t get lost. I’ll stay on the phone with you, okay?”

As my daughter was safely navigating me to her home she said, “Mom, I have no idea how you would go in a circle if you plugged in our address? And I have no idea how you ended up on the other side of town.”

And that’s when I said, “Well, I did what you said and I followed the dot on the GPS.”

“Which dot did you follow?” she asked.

“I followed the blue dot.”

“Mom, you are the blue dot. Wherever you drive the blue dot follows. No wonder you  got lost, you were following yourself.”

The two of us started laughing, and she continued to navigate me safely to her home. As I was driving I started to share with her all that I was seeing as she guided me past Wilshire Blvd, and Rodeo Drive. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and while she wasn’t in the car with me, she was still sharing the moment and helping me get to her home.

When I finally arrived the first thing out of her mouth was, “I can’t believe you were following the blue dot. Basically yourself! You can’t follow yourself mom or you’ll never arrive!”

I spent the evening with my daughter, her boyfriend, and my son, and around 11:00 p.m. I got in my car, and drove home. As I approached the 101 Freeway (that would lead me to my home) I realized the importance of the lesson that I had learned.

One must know which dot to follow!

Within the world in which I live we have come to a place in time where God is big, and it’s okay to pick a religion and follow it.

But, is it?

I realized last night that Jesus is the only one who has ever said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6

For the first time I completely understand why God had to say that. If God didn’t clarify the person in which we were to follow, none of us would ever arrive. And, because I  was following “me” I ended up lost.

And when He had called the people to Him, with His disciples also, He said to them, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross and follow me. Mark 8:34

ONWARD TO MY GPS (GOD’S POSITIONING SYSTEM!)

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “ARE YOU LOST?

  1. dukedoc76

    Gina, your insight is wonderful. I love how God reveals His truths to you in such humorous ways. You and my wife have similar directional challenges., and I am glad for God’s Positioning System. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

