WHAT’S YOUR CHRISTMAS WISH?

Last week I ran to Target to get a few things and I passed by the dollar section and smiled. When my children were young I could sniff out the dollar section of a store in a minute, and I’ve always wondered why Target puts their dollar menu right as one walks in. I mean, I understand that it brings customers in, but it also leaves nothing to hunt for. Sometimes it’s fun to have to go looking for the bargain instead of walking right into it.

As I walked past the dollar section I decided I would go on a bargain hunt to find my husband a gift that I could give to him on the first day of December. I wanted to give him something that he could open each day until Christmas, to simply make his holiday a little brighter. So, hunting I went. I walked down each aisle of the store looking for the right gift, and I smiled when I finally found what I was looking for. 

Situated sideways on the shelf was a wooden Advent Calendar with tiny little doors that opened, so I decided that would be my purchase, and then I headed to the candy section and picked up a bag of Hershey’s Chocolate Kisses, and when I had what I was searching for I happily paid for my purchase and came home.

Yesterday I grabbed my Advent Calendar, chocolate, and then realized that there needed to be a message so I went through my cupboards until I found the added value that I was looking for. A tiny roll of wishes. Finding my sissors I cut out 25 wishes and then placed one chocolate kiss and one wish inside of each tiny door within the Advent Calendar. I then wrote my husband a card that read:

Happy 25 days of kisses!

When my card was complete I looked down and realized that I had used up all the wishes, but one. I had one “WISH” left, and when I saw that I realized that prayers are much like wishes. Each day I wake up and I pray. There are days when my prayer list is rather long. I pray for this or that. I pray for this person, and that person. I pray for food, and then I pray not to eat too much of it. I pray that I arrive somewhere safely, and then I pray that I don’t get a speeding ticket when I’m driving too fast. I pray for many things, and what I realized as I was holding my one “WISH” is that my prayer was that all of Kenny’s Wishes come true.

I had to be somewhere last night, and left before my husband arrived home. So, I left his gift on the counter and when I arrived home I walked in and saw that one door was open, and his the Hershey’s Chocolate Kiss was gone. I said, “So, I see you found your gift?”  

 “Yes, and I loved my kiss and made my wish.”

 I quickly asked, “Well, what did you wish for?”

His reply… “It’s a secret!”

There’s a verse in the Bible that reads:   “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.~  Matthew 7:7

My “WISH” today is that everyone who reads this appointment takes the time to ask… seek… knock… on the heart of God, and I promise you when you open the door you will find that He’s listening to your heart and that He’s sending you a kiss.

ONWARD TO THE CHOCOLATE!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “WHAT’S YOUR CHRISTMAS WISH?

  1. You are a special woman, Gina Gippner-Woods….and many are blessed through the ways in which God has chosen to show His love through you.

Leave a Reply

