God Asked Why?

I have to smile. Yesterday, as I was scribing my Appointment with God, I wrote this paragraph…  It’s now 1:40 a.m., November 17, 2011, and for me, today will be a normal day. I will get up, have my coffee, take a shower. Pet my dogs. Go into my office and get to work. Prayerfully, nothing will happen that will change the course of my day….

Yesterday, when I actually woke up, my day was nothing even remotely close to my description. I actually woke up at 4:30 a.m. with a fever and aches and pains in places I didn’t even know existed. I stayed in bed trying to convince myself that the fever would go away. I had planned my day, and it was not going has I had planned.

I stayed in bed for a few hours, and then I had to run some errands. Unfortunately the bill collectors don’t care if I’m sick. And, I actually laid my money on the table and asked if my Guardian Angel would run the errands for me. When that didn’t work, I jumped in the shower, and then made a sign that read: Stand 20 FEET Away… I’m sick.  I wanted to make certain that I was being considerate of others, and prayed that each person I ran into could read.

It seemed to take me hours to get ready, and then when I finally got myself together, my dogs met me at my car, and the three of us drove around town. As we were driving I started to realize that when I drive I never notice cars. Now, no need to worry, I won’t hit you, but when I drive is when I notice the quietness of God. I call my car my place of peace, because I always seem to figure out the “piece” of my life that is missing.

Yesterday, was no exception.

As I was driving my heart said to God, “My day is nothing like I planned!” 

God said, “Really!”

When I didn’t like the way it turned out….

God asked, “Why?”

“When I arrived at the Post Office, I walked in to check my mail, and over in the corner I saw a woman crying. It seemed that no one else  noticed her, so I had to take a second look to make sure that my fever wasn’t giving me hallucinations. I approached the woman and asked if she was okay, and it was then that she handed me a letter.

I took the letter from her hand, and it was from her brother. He would be leaving soon from  a trip that he had been enjoying, and couldn’t wait to see her. The letter said more, but I stopped  and said, “This seems like a nice letter.”

She took the letter out of my hand, and then said, “You don’t understand. I just got this letter out of my PO Box. For some reason he mailed it nine weeks ago, and the Post Office just delivered it.” She stopped for a second, and I said, “Well, is he home?”

“Yes, he is.” And she looked down at her feet. 

I saw a box that was addressed to the woman, and I knew. Her brother had sent her a letter telling her that he was coming home, but the way he thought he was coming home, was very different from the way he arrived.

I hugged her, and she held me tight for what seemed like minutes. I asked if I could help, and she said, “I hate to ask you this, but would you carry him to my car?”

Without saying another word I picked up the box with my left-hand, and grabbed her left-hand with my right. The two of us walked out to her car, and I gently placed her brother in the passenger seat, and then came around and gave her a hug. The woman didn’t say another word to me, but simply drove away.

As I watched her drive away all I could think of was the letter that her brother sent home, was very different from what he wrote. Just as I had written that my day was going to be grand, it turned out very different from what I had expected.

I loved that she got to read that  his trip was wonderful, and as I was reading his letter I felt as if I knew him. I believe that within each person there is a part of us that wants the story of our lives to play out differently than it actually reads, but God was right when He asked my heart why I would think that my “yesterday” didn’t turn out.

Had I not been sick, I wouldn’t have arrived on time to help a woman pick up a box that was too heavy for her to carry.

From this day forward, I’m not going to plan my day, but allow God to plan it for me. I have no idea what today is going to bring, but I can promise me this… that when the day is over, I will write about it. I never want to miss my Appointments with God!

11Now when Job’s three friends heard of all this evil that was come upon him, they came every one from his own place; Eliphaz the Temanite, and Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite: for they had made an appointment together to come to mourn with him and to comfort him. Job 2:11.

I love when God verify’s my heart. I was right. Appointments are all about finding comfort!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

And… If anyone finds the words that God has placed on my heart to share, I would love to ask you to share an appointment with me (today) that God has made with you. Please do not look for the bad within the appointment, but the blessing that came because of the appointment. I would love for you to find “peace” and “comfort” too! Send your appointment to: justmominc@yahoo.com

4 Comments

Filed under Faith

4 responses to “God Asked Why?

  1. Dr Gary M Stuhlmiller

    A plan I now have for each day..not to miss my reading of your Appointment with God message.

  2. I was very pleased to search out this internet-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this wonderful learn!! I positively having fun with each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

