WHAT DOES YOUR FACEBOOK PAGE SAY ABOUT YOU?

Every morning I grab my cup of coffee and sit down for a few to look through the News Feed on Facebook. It’s a simple way for me to get a “quick” update of what my friends are doing. Some of the updates are funny. There are those that are insightful, and then there are those that share a moment of truth.

Please pray for me today…

I’m heading to a funeral of the one I loved…

My child took their first step…

Here’s a picture of my dog before he/she passed away…

I’m going to be a grandmother/grandfather…

I’m getting married…

My son/daughter is coming home from serving his/her country…

I lost weight…

I finally gained weight…

I found out I have cancer…

My cancer is in remission…

I gave birth to a baby boy/girl…

I adopted a child…

I lost a child…

I love you…

The list goes on-and-on, but the messages within the status box says enough without having to write the novel. I can simply read a few words and know the emotion that person was experiencing at that moment.  I like that if I read something that I agree with I can simply click the “Like” button and wallah… I’m included in the conversation. I also like that if I want to add something to the conversation I can simply click the “Comment” button and I can add a comment.

I believe that people were created to communicate. Communication changes everything. A kind word can turn a bad day into a good one. Or a hurtful word can turn a good day into a very long week. It’s all about how we “choose” to use our words. Words and emotions, when placed together become the most powerful tool in the world.

This morning I opened my Bible and while I was reading I realized that the Bible was much like a Facebook page. Each of the people who shared their stories were able to share their hearts, in both the good and bad within their lives. There is not one story on Facebook, that at one-time-or-another, I haven’t found a similar story within the Bible.

I get asked often if I truly believe what is written in the Bible, and I do— I really believe in the Old Testament and the New.

After spending time on Facebook, and truly getting to “read” the hearts of others, I now believe that the true wealth of others comes from the simplicity of “believing” in the person. I have spent the last 35 years of my life reading through the Bible, and I can honestly write that I believe the hearts of those who were sharing within  the 66 Chapters of the Bible.  I believe if there was a Facebook during the time Jesus walked the earth it would have been filled with people on his fan page sharing all the miracles that He did for them that day.  It would read:

Hey, I was completely paralyzed, and Jesus told me to, “Stand up, take your mat, and go on home, because you are healed!” And I was… I was completely healed. Matthew 9-6

I was getting married today and ran out of wine, when I overheard Jesus saying to the servants, “Fill the jars with water.” When the jars had been filled to the brim, he said, “Dip some out and take it to the master of ceremonies.” So they followed his instructions. When the master of ceremonies tasted the water that was now wine, not knowing were it had come from (though, of course, the servants knew), John 2:7-10 What a great memory my wedding turned out to be…

I was sick for twelve years and heard that Jesus was coming into town. I waited for him, and when I saw him I ran and touched the fringe on his robe. I thought, “If I can just touch his robe, I will be healed.” Then Jesus turned to me and said, “Daughter, be encouraged! Your faith has made you well.” Matthew 9: 20-22 And I want to the whole world to know that he healed me!

Hi, my name is Bartimaues and I am new to this site. You see, this morning I was blind, but Jesus came into Jericho today and he happened to see me sitting beside the road. When I heard someone say that he was nearby, I began to shout for him. I had heard all the wonderful things he had done for so many, so I just shouted, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” People were telling me to be quiet, but I didn’t listen, and kept shouting. I knew Jesus would hear me, and I was so happy when Jesus asked,”What do you want me to do for you?” I called him, Teacher, and said, “I want to see!” Then Jesus said to me, “Go your way. Your faith has healed you.” Mark 10  I am so happy. Jesus was right. This morning I couldn’t see the sunrise, but tonight I watched the sun set!

Yes, I believe Facebook is what helped me to understand how the Bible came about, and see how people haven’t changed in over 2,000 years. And, it’s true. God actually was the first to start a Facebook page, because He states that once one accepts Christ into their heart, their name is written in His Book of Life!

 1Wherefore, my brethren beloved and longed for, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, my beloved.

   2I exhort Euodia, and I exhort Syntyche, to be of the same mind in the Lord.

   3Yea, I beseech thee also, true yokefellow, help these women, for they labored with me in the gospel, with Clement also, and the rest of my fellow-workers, whose names are in the book of life.

   4Rejoice in the Lord always: again I will say, Rejoice.

   5Let your forbearance be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.

   6In nothing be anxious; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

   7And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus.

   8Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honorable, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

   9The things which ye both learned and received and heard and saw in me, these things do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

   10But I rejoice in the Lord greatly, that now at length ye have revived your thought for me; wherein ye did indeed take thought, but ye lacked opportunity.

   11Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therein to be content.

   12I know how to be abased, and I know also how to abound: in everything and in all things have I learned the secret both to be filled and to be hungry, both to abound and to be in want.

   13I can do all things in him that strengtheneth me.

   14Howbeit ye did well that ye had fellowship with my affliction.

   15And ye yourselves also know, ye Philippians, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church had fellowship with me in the matter of giving and receiving but ye only;

   16for even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my need.

   17Not that I seek for the gift; but I seek for the fruit that increaseth to your account.

   18But I have all things, and abound: I am filled, having received from Epaphroditus the things that came from you, and odor of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, well-pleasing to God.

   19And my God shall supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

   20Now unto our God and Father be the glory for ever and ever. Amen.

   21Salute every saint in Christ Jesus. The brethren that are with me salute you.

   22All the saints salute you, especially they that are of Caesar’s household.

   23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

Philippians 4: 1-23

And, the one thing I’ve learned about being in the Book of Life— is much life Facebook…. One must sign up to be included.

Onward by Faith!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “WHAT DOES YOUR FACEBOOK PAGE SAY ABOUT YOU?

  1. Gina, you have been given marvelous insight by our Lord….what a great analogy of how Facebook might have looked in Jesus’ time. You are truly special. I would add one more bit to His Book of Life….and His Love. The Bible is the love story (chick-flik) of God’s love for each of us.

Leave a Reply

