BUILD IT ANYWAY!

A few weeks back my husband came into my office and shared that I needed to go back to work, and that I had to let go of a non-profit that I created. Being that I adore my husband, I heard what he had to say. He was right. One can’t pay the bills with a dream!

At first I cried, and tried to think of all the ways I could make the non-profit work; but then reality set in and I realized that “if” after seven years it hadn’t happened— it might not happen that day. So, I did what he asked. I sent a letter out to all my friends sharing the need for help with the non-profit and then got to work applying for jobs.

A few days later my phone rang and it was a woman from the HR Department of the job I truly wanted. We spoke for quite some time, and then she sent me over several tests, and yesterday I had the interview. It looks promising that next week I may be offered the job. God worked quickly, and if I do get the position I am going to feel very blessed.

Now, onward to the rest of the story….

The day my husband asked me to find help (for our non-profit or let the non-profit go) my friends started sharing the need with their friends. My heart knew that all we would need was that “one” person who saw the value of what we’ve been trying to do, and would invest their time in the dream.  And that’s exactly what happened. A woman called who dreams the impossible dream and wants to help. It seems our non-profit will live another day!

What I realized through this whole process of dreaming was… whenever I get discouraged I always think of Noah, and how God asked him to build an ark. Daily, Noah would show up for work, and when the rest of the people couldn’t see the vision of the ark he was creating for God, he could see it.  And then when it was time for Noah and his family to “go aboard” the townspeople didn’t believe in Noah’s dream, and they all drowned.

I believe there’s a great message in Noah’s story. Noah had faith in God, and for no other reason, he built his ark. I believe that in each of us lies an ark waiting to be built, and the beauty of Noah’s story is he didn’t build it in vain. He eventually landed where he and his family were meant to be.

Today if you’re reading this and God has given you a vision to do something, don’t let the fear of building something that others can’t see, get in your way. BUILD IT ANYWAY, because eventually you will land exactly where you are meant to be. And… if God wants you to have help building your ark— He will send you help, and the rest of your story will be but a wonderful adventure that you will not want to miss.

1 But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and the livestock that were with him in the ark, and he sent a wind over the earth, and the waters receded. 2 Now the springs of the deep and the floodgates of the heavens had been closed, and the rain had stopped falling from the sky. 3 The water receded steadily from the earth. At the end of the hundred and fifty days the water had gone down, 4 and on the seventeenth day of the seventh month the ark came to rest on the mountains of Ararat. 5The waters continued to recede until the tenth month, and on the first day of the tenth month the tops of the mountains became visible.

 6 After forty days Noah opened a window he had made in the ark 7 and sent out a raven, and it kept flying back and forth until the water had dried up from the earth. 8 Then he sent out a dove to see if the water had receded from the surface of the ground. 9 But the dove could find nowhere to perch because there was water over all the surface of the earth; so it returned to Noah in the ark. He reached out his hand and took the dove and brought it back to himself in the ark. 10 He waited seven more days and again sent out the dove from the ark. 11 When the dove returned to him in the evening, there in its beak was a freshly plucked olive leaf! Then Noah knew that the water had receded from the earth. 12He waited seven more days and sent the dove out again, but this time it did not return to him.

 13 By the first day of the first month of Noah’s six hundred and first year, the water had dried up from the earth. Noah then removed the covering from the ark and saw that the surface of the ground was dry. 14By the twenty-seventh day of the second month the earth was completely dry.

 15 Then God said to Noah, 16 “Come out of the ark, you and your wife and your sons and their wives. 17Bring out every kind of living creature that is with you—the birds, the animals, and all the creatures that move along the ground—so they can multiply on the earth and be fruitful and increase in number on it.”

 18 So Noah came out, together with his sons and his wife and his sons’ wives. 19All the animals and all the creatures that move along the ground and all the birds—everything that moves on land—came out of the ark, one kind after another.

 20 Then Noah built an altar to the LORD and, taking some of all the clean animals and clean birds, he sacrificed burnt offerings on it. 21 The LORD smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart: “Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though[a]every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.

 22 “As long as the earth endures,
seedtime and harvest,
cold and heat,
summer and winter,
day and night
will never cease.”

Genesis 8:1-22

Onward by Faith!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “BUILD IT ANYWAY!

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

