To Be….

 

This morning I truly feel the need to paraphrase Shakespeare….

To be “three,” or not be “three,” that is the question: Whether in the mind it is insane to even try to keep up with a three-year-old, because the mind doesn’t suffer, but the body does!

All day yesterday I played with my three-year-old granddaughter, and it’s amazing  how quickly her mind thinks of new and exciting things to do. All of which require legs that love to run, and hundreds of gallons of water. How she loves to play in the water.

Toward the end of the afternoon I convinced her that it was time to find a quiet place to sit, so we found a bench in the garden and sat down. Within a moment she realized that if she kicked out her legs the bench would rock. So, we sat for over an hour and rocked.

Then I convinced her to go and sit by a tree. Within a moment she realized that she could climb the tree so— we climbed the tree!

Then I convinced her to go and sit in my garden. Within a moment she noticed the Lime tree, and we spent the next hour picking Limes off the tree.

Then I convinced her it was time to make dinner. We then spent the next hour washing dishes (that were not dirty) just to make sure they were extra clean.

Then I convinced her it was time for bed, and we spent the next hour “chatting” about why it was too early to go to bed! It was only 7:30 p.m., and after an hour of convincing her it was time to sleep, I fell asleep. Around 1:30 a.m.,  I woke up and realized that she was finally asleep, and all was right with the world. 

This morning when she awoke she said, “Grandma, you look tired. Didn’t you sleep?”

“Well, I woke up at 1:30 in the morning and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I watched you sleep.”

“That was very nice of you Grandma!” And she gave me a hug.

While we were having breakfast, I was thinking about how nice it is to know that when she leaves tomorrow she’ll have her parents watching over her and God. Some days it’s hard being so far away from those I love, but such a comfort to know that someone is watching over them.

48 Laban said, “This heap is a witness between you and me today.” That is why it was called Galeed. 49 It was also called Mizpah, because he said, “May the LORD keep watch between you and me when we are away from each other.  Genesis 31:48-49

If you’re missing someone you love, just know that God is watching over them. I promise!

Onward by Faith!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “To Be….

  1. Kelly

    “If you’re missing someone you love, just know that God is watching over them.”
    This was the only thing I could lean on for the last 7 months. My son has been in Afghanistan, serving his country with the United States Marine Corps, and of course I couldn’t be there to help if he got in a jam, or let him talk it out and find a solution to a problem, or give him a shoulder to cry on when he lost a Marine brother. That realization was so painful. And I’ve had a lot of people ask me “How did you do it?? I think I’d go crazy; my son just left for college and it’s almost unbearable!”, and my reply has been (and HAD to be), prayer. That’s the only way I made it through. Knowing that my son was in better Hands than my own, and finding so much peace in that knowledge, is all that saved my sanity during this deployment. By God’s grace, Nick is home now, safe and sound, and I can breathe deeply again. He and I both know Who was keeping him safe.

    • Praying for you.
      My son was a Marine and went to Iraq. I know all too well what you mean. My granddaughter is his daughter. I thank God daily for his safe return home and for all those who continue to serve. Feel free to write to me anytime you need to talk. Onward by Faith!

Leave a Reply

