Do You Remember Imagination?

A few days ago I received a phone call that went like this.

“Hello.” I said.

“Hello Grandma!” The voice said with a smile.

“Cady, is that you?”

“Yep!”

“What are you doing?”

“I’m coming to see you!”

My son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter, were driving down to Southern California because of my son’s work, and he decided to “surprise” me. What a great surprise it was!

Yesterday I got to spend the day with my family and then brought my granddaughter home to spend some one-on-one time with her. Last night we were chatting and I asked her what she liked to do, “I love to touch things. Things are so pretty, but my mom won’t let me touch things unless I ask first.”

This morning she woke up and saw her big box of toys and asked if she could touch them. As she opened up the box her face lit up, and with each toy she pulled out she said, “Oh, Grandma, I remember this one. This one is my favorite!” When she finally pulled the last toy out of the box I asked, “So, which one is your true favorite?” 

“I like Princess Cinderella, and her carriage, because all princesses love to drive around in a carriage.”‘

I watched as she loaded Cinderella in the carriage and the two of them traveled around my home. They climbed the highest mountain when they climbed atop the couch. They hid in the valley when they hid behind the Christmas Tree, (Yes, my Christmas tree is up!) and they went to the North Pole when Cinderella was placed in the freezer.

All morning I sat and played with her, watching as her imagination took her to all the places she wanted to be. So, today I’m taking the day off and “we” are going to “be” everything we’ve ever wanted to be, and “go” to all the places we’ve ever wanted to “go.”  I’m so glad she reminded me that imagination is something that no one can take away.

And…Even Saul had a little help from his friend!

 23 Whenever the spirit from God came on Saul, David would take up his lyre and play. Then relief would come to Saul; he would feel better, and the evil spirit would leave him. 1 Samuel 16: 23

Praying everyone takes a moment to play today!

Onward by Faith!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

