I’m On A “Which” Hunt

Last week I set out on a journey to find a job. For hours I read all the job listings and realized that I wasn’t qualified to be an X-Ray Technician, or a Security Guard. I didn’t want to serve food, because I now have this bad habit of picking food off of the plates of others. I’m sure the customer would not appreciate their food half-eaten by the time it arrived to their table.

It was actually comforting seeing that there are still jobs in the world, but my heart kept reminding me that for every job opening, millions of people would be applying for them.  When I stopped thinking about the millions of “other” people, I thoughtfully worked on my resume, and only applied for jobs that I would want to grow old doing.

A few days later I received a call from the job I truly wanted. The woman on the phone interviewed me for 45 minutes, and then she e-mailed five assessment tests. I was so excited to do the tests, so I grabbed a cup of coffee and clicked, BEGIN.  At the exact moment I started my test the computer decided to freeze up, and what should have taken me only a little over an hour to complete, took four.

I sent the woman a “thank-you,” and told her that my computer was acting up and if there was a problem to let me know. A few days later she called and said there was nothing but problems, so yesterday morning I retook the test. Then last night she called and said that one of the other tests that I took, she thought read 100 percent, but when she looked at it again, it read zero.  “It must not have saved the test” she said.

 Really?

We both laughed, and this morning I am heading to a friend’s house to use her computer. I don’t want to be remembered as the woman who received the perfect score of zero!

Since all this transpired I began getting really nervous. What set out to be a routine job hunt, has now turned into a “which” hunt. Which answer will I get right today?

All day yesterday I was so nervous, but by the end of the day I realized that all I can do, is all I can do. God knows “which” job He wants me to have.   I need many things in life to exist within this world, but the moment I give into stress, is the moment I give into the world, and stop trusting God. I can honestly write that yesterday I came pretty-darn-close to allowing the tiny glitches to rob me of my faith, and then God reminded me of this: 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

If you have little glitches in your life— just remember that the LORD does know the plans He has for you— and they are to give you hope and a future.

Onward by Faith!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “I’m On A “Which” Hunt

Leave a Reply

