If the house needs painting… Paint the house!

Fifteen years ago I was driving down my ol’ dirt road, listening to the radio, when a Pastor shared a story. It was about a woman who had sent him a letter asking him this question, “In the Bible there is a passage that reads: In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with braided hair or gold or pearls or costly array; 1 Timothy 2: 9. My question: I don’t believe that women should bother getting the grey out of their hair or worrying about the wrinkles in their face. I think it’s a waste to purchase makeup, just so a woman can feel better. After reading this verse in the Bible I’m wondering if you wouldn’t share with your listeners the truth about vanity.”

The Pastor silenced his voice and continued, “It’s interesting that you would send me this letter, because weeks back I had a woman ask me the same question. As I looked in the woman’s eyes I realized that she thought it was wrong for women to add a little lipstick, eye shadow, rough to brighten up the cheeks, and a pretty bow to put in her hair. I had to stop for a moment and think of how to answer. Her eyes were telling me that she needed more than just the makeup or the garments to make her feel alive, so in my wisdom all I could say was, “If the house needs painting… paint the house!”

Yesterday I woke up and realized that I was wearing my sweat pants, an old t-shirt, no makeup and my hair was in a big pony tail. Towards the afternoon I happened to walk past a mirror and noticed that the outside of my house was looking old and worn like the inside of my house was feeling.

 A few moments later I sat down at my computer and someone had sent me an email that simply said this, “Gina, have you ever heard of Red Majesty?”  Never hearing of Red Majesty I had to take a look so I googled it, and up pops this beautiful picture of a woman wearing red lipstick. The moment I saw her I smiled, and immediately picked up my phone and called a friend to see if she wanted to meet me at the mall. When she agreed, I turned off my computer, jumped in the shower, painted my house… even adding a little lipstick,  and then I went to he mall. 

When the two of us met I was so happy to see that she too was wearing lipstick, and within the midst of both of our sorrows we went and found a place to sit and spent the next several hours enjoying each others company.

This morning I went back to that email to see who sent me the question about Red Majesty, and what I found was had I clicked the attachment it would have lead me to a picture of her sitting on her “Red” Yamaha “Majesty” motorcycle she had just purchased.

For the past few hours I’ve been thinking about how God sends me little clues that He knows I’ll go looking for. I so needed to paint my house yesterday and then go and enjoy the “lipstick” smile of a friend.  The Pastor was right the way he answered the woman. Every now and again it’s important to look deep within to see the changes that need to be made, and as we make those changes then the outside of our house will reflect how the inside of our house is feeling.

So, to anyone who reads this today— always remember: IF THE HOUSE NEEDS PAINTING… PAINT THE HOUSE!

1Oh, that you would burst from the heavens and come down! How the mountains would quake in your presence! 2 As fire causes wood to burn and water to boil, your coming would make the nations tremble. Then your enemies would learn the reason for your fame! 3 When you came down long ago, you did awesome things beyond our highest expectations. And oh, how the mountains quaked! 4 For since the world began, no ear has heard, and no eye has seen a God like you, who works for those who wait for him! 5 You welcome those who cheerfully do good, who follow godly ways. But we are not godly. We are constant sinners, so your anger is heavy on us. How can people like us be saved? 6 We are all infected and impure with sin. When we proudly display our righteous deeds, we find they are but filthy rags. Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall. And our sins, like the wind, sweep us away. 7 Yet no one calls on your name or pleads with your for mercy. Therefore, you have turned away from us and turned us over to our sins. 8 And yet, LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, and you are the potter. We are all formed by your hand. 9 Oh, don’t be so angry with us, LORD. Please don’t remember our sins forever. Look at us, we pray, and see that we are all your people. 10 Your holy cities are destroyed; even Jerusalem is a desolate wilderness. 11 The holy, beautiful House where our ancestors praised you has been burned down, and all the things of beauty are destroyed. 12 After all this, LORD, must you still refuse to help us? Will you continue to be silent and punish us? Isaiah 64: 1-12

1The LORD says, “People who never before inquired about me are now asking about me. I am being found by people who were not looking for me. To them I have said, ‘I am here!’ Isaiah 65: 1

Onward by Faith!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

