It’s the dawn of a new day!

It’s funny how quickly life changes. It’s the dawn of a new day, and this sunrise is much different then when the sun set last night.

Yesterday morning I got up and sat silently in my office. I had to smile because I was instantly reminded of the movie: You’ve Got Mail. Ladies, you know the scene. The one where Meg Ryan has to close up her “Shop Around the Corner” because Fox Books has closed her down.

As she’s walking out the door (for the last time) she turns and looks into the dark, empty room and what she sees is the memory of her as a child, dancing with her mother. She smiles and closes the door… never to return to that life again.

Yesterday I had to somewhat do that… I am the founder of a non-profit that has given over 2,000 gifts of comfort in the form of a stuffed, plush, puppy, to children that are hospitalized and alone AND… yesterday my husband came into my office and said, “Gina, I love you and am so proud of all that you and all your donors have done, but it’s time to get more help or let it go.”

I quickly got defensive and said, “BUT… ”

He interrupted me and said, “But what? You’ve done all one person can do, and those who were able to help did all they were able to do. What more can you do?”

So, all afternoon I sat at my desk staring at my blank computer screen. Ten times I wrote a “Dear John” letter to my donors and nine times I erased them, until finally I had to let it go. I wiped the tears from my eyes, looked around my office and for a moment I felt as if I saw over 2,000 children smiling, and within their silent smiles were beautiful “thank you’s” and I knew that comfort isn’t about lasting forever, but that it’s everlasting… And within my realization I typed my tenth and final letter and clicked “send!”

I have to admit that once I sent it there was a peace of letting go. I finally understood the quote by Doug Hourton which states—

“If you love something let it go free. If it doesn’t come back, you never had it. If it comes back, love it forever.”

I have no idea what today is going to bring, but I know I trust it. There’s something very exciting about stepping away from a life that is familiar and going toward a life I’ve never met before. No money… No job… But the possibility that maybe a new job will lead me to someone who wants to help with Owie. Or I’ll meet new friends. Or I’ll simply just enjoy what comes my way!

And, there is something very profound in Doug Hourton’s quote. Reminds me of how salvation works. Christ loved us so much that he died for us on the Cross and after his death he was set free. Now, the only way we can get him back is to ask him to return into our hearts, and when we ask him, it’s because we do want to love him forever.

On the other hand, Jesus also knows who is going to accept him or not, and just like our lives, he also knows if things are going to work or not. The trick is to know that Jesus knows what’s best for us. The good thing in life is that even if we have to let something go we must have loved it at one time or another to try and hold onto it so dearly.

So, today if there is something that isn’t working in your life, or you have to let go of something— just know that a journey can get very tiresome and it’s best to let go of the weight that is holding you down in order to end up where you are meant to be!

And you shall say to him, “The Lord God of the Hebrews has sent me to you, saying, “Let My people go, that they may serve Me in the wilderness- Exodus 7:16

“See you in the wilderness!”

Onward by Faith!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

