I’ve been served!

Yesterday afternoon I was going through my finances wondering if life couldn’t get any harder when my husband pulled up the driveway.

Then with a smile on his face he said, “Hey, we’ve both been served!”

Two years ago I had to have a tumor removed, and to be honest… When I heard how much it was going to cost to remove it, I seriously thought I would just keep it!

Months went by and the bills started coming in and I could only pay what little I could pay. My insurance had paid the majority, but my percentage was still very high. One afternoon a man called me and said, “Gina, you still owe 2,300 on these medical tests. When can I expect your payment in full?” I replied, “Well, I can’t pay it all, but I can pay so much per month, and will have you paid off as soon as possible.” He was silent for a moment and said, “Not acceptable!” I said, “Well, I’ve had a hard time bouncing back from the surgery, and I’m working as much as I can and am barely making it.” He said, “Not acceptable!” I said, “Well, I can’t do more than that right now!” Then he said…. “I will see you in court!”

So, yesterday I had to smile when I saw that he not only is suing me, but my husband.  I looked at my husband and said, “I’m so sorry they included you in this too. He just smiled and said, “I was happy to be served with you. We’ll see the man in court!”

All night I kept wondering what happened to the days when doctors used to barter. A woman would deliver a baby, the doctor would help, and then she would jump out of bed, run out to the back yard… catch a chicken, and give it to him for pay. All of which, he graciously accepted for his family.

Within the economic times that we are living in I wonder why people won’t work with people anymore. Somewhere between this century and the last we’ve forgotten how to communicate and work together.

This morning I woke up and was praying about what to do next. Yes, I will get another job. Yes, I will eat less to make my food go further, and yes I will no longer dye my hair brown, but let it become the natural grey that it is attempting to become.

And, the last time I spoke to this man I said this, “Now, I can’t pay you the whole amount, but aren’t you glad that I didn’t die so I can work, and eventually get you paid?” He said, “NO! I could care less about that. I just need you to pay your bill!”

Humm… Humanity at its finest!

So today I’ve decided that “yes” life can get harder, but “no” I don’t have to stress about it. All I can do is get up, and do the next thing because I’m so blessed that God has given me another day, and as long as I “SERVE” God… I have nothing to fear, and if anyone who is reading this needs an employee, “call me!”

  23 Again I say, don’t get involved in foolish, ignorant arguments that only start fights. 24 The Lord’s servants must not quarrel but must be kind to everyone. They must be able to teach effectively and be patient with difficult people. 25 They should gently teach those who opposed the truth. Perhaps God will change those people’s hearts, and they will believe the truth. 26 Then  they will come to their senses and escape from the Devil’s trap. For they have been held captive by him to do whatever he wants. 2 Timothy 2: 23-26

Onward by Faith

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

