Are you a dummy too?

I recently purchased a new computer program and had no idea how to use it.  When I uploaded the program my heart skipped a beat. It should have been written in another language, and I figured it would take a life time for me to figure it out. A friend suggested that if I didn’t want it to take me a “good year” to learn the program that I should go get the “For Dummies”  book, and that would make my journey a little less horrifying.

So, yesterday  I went to Barnes & Noble and found the section that read: FOR DUMMIES!

Oh my gosh. I had no idea how many “For Dummies” books there were. They had them for everything from Acne, stress, friendships, and I had to smile when I saw the book that read: Christian Prayer For Dummies. I seriously thought Jesus explained that one easy enough…

Our Father, Who art in heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name.
Thy Kingdom come.
Thy Will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil. Amen.
Matthew 6:9-14

 
I was there for over an hour looking through all the books, when a young boy came up to me and asked, “Are you a dummy too?”
 
I looked down and asked, “What?”
 
“Are you a dummy too?”
 
“Well, I guess I must be if I’m looking to buy a book for dummies.” I replied.
 
He looked down at his shoes and then looked back up at me and for a moment he was quiet.
 
“Are you okay?” I asked.
 
“He replied, “When I was 11 the kids used to call me a dummy, and after that I didn’t want to go to school anymore. I live with my grandmother (because my parents died in a car crash) and it’s me and my gram.   One day my gram brought me here and told me to find the books that were
labeled ‘For Smart People.’  I walked around the store all day and couldn’t find one book that was written for smart people.  My grandmother was sitting over there, ( he pointed at a table that is for those who drink coffee) so I came up to my gram and shared that I couldn’t find one. She then told me to go find all the books written for dummies, and within minutes I had found tons. So, you see… my gram says that dummies are the only ones who want to learn, because the smart people think they know everything!”
 
So, my question to anyone who reads this today… “Are you a dummy too?”
 
Onward by Faith! 
 

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Faith

10 responses to “Are you a dummy too?

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything such as this prior to. So great to discover someone with some original ideas on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web-site is something which is required around the internet, a person having a little originality. helpful task for bringing some thing new to the internet!

  3. This is great, you do a good job. I appreciate it.

  4. Howdy, I love your articles it’s actually helpful to me. In case you are on the lookout for different articles I’ll have tried to help within the hyperlink of mine .Please look at my hyperlink, You’ve would possibly founds some other stuff you want .Thank You.

  5. I was very happy to find this net-site.I wanted to thanks to your time for this glorious read!! I positively having fun with every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

