October 26, 2011

Yesterday I was working on editing my book, when I my heart heard that I needed to add one more appointment to it. The book’s title is: Appointments with God, and was written over the past 35 years of my life, on how I personally met Jesus. The appointment that God shared with me was about  someone I loved who recently passed away, and this person also happened to be my mother-in-law for nearly 22 years.

Dorothy and I used to call each other Ruth and Naomi. She was the kind of woman who any daughter-in-law would have followed, but I had to let go of her when her son remarried. While we always loved each other we knew that we would one day see each other again, and that love is always remembered.

So, after trusting my heart I decided that it was time to add the story, but as I was doing it I prayed one more time for God to bless the words that were being typed onto paper. A few moments after I prayed my phone rang, and I almost didn’t answer the phone, because I didn’t recognize the number, but decided to go ahead. When I said, “hello” she responded, but I didn’t recognize the voice so I asked, “I’m sorry, but who is this?” 

“Naomi.”

I quickly said, “Are you kidding me?”

She said, “Hey Gina, six times God put it in my heart to give you a call, so finally I picked up the phone and called you.”  She ended up inviting me to an event that she was doing last night, but when I told her how I was asking God if He wanted me to include the story, and then she called… we both agreed that God was giving me a definite, “YES!”

Last night I couldn’t help but think of all the ways God talks to me. I simply asked Him a question, and He knew that my heart thought it was the right thing to do, but was still uncertain and wanted  divine direction.  Naomi and I discussed how it had been more than nine months since the two of us had chatted, so God definitely used her has my messenger yesterday.

When I started writing down the appointments that God started making with me, I was 12. I realized yesterday why it took so long to understand God.  I actually had to slow down long enough to find Him.  Now that He has instructed my heart to make one appointment with Him per day (to see how very present He is in my life) I truly have to be still and look for Him.

1 One day Naomi said to Ruth, “My daughter, it is time that I found a permanent home for you, so that you will be provided for. 2 Boaz is a close relative of ours, and he’s been very kind by letting you gather grain with his workers. Tonight he will be winnowing barley at the threshing floor. 3 Now do as I tell you—take a bath and put on perfume and dress in your nicest clothes. Then go to the threshing floor, but don’t let Boaz see you until he has finished his meal. 4 Be sure to notice where he lies down; then go and uncover his feet and lie down there. He will tell you what to do.”

5 “I will do everything you say,” Ruth replied. 6 So she went down to the threshing floor that night and followed the instructions of her mother-in-law. 7 After Boaz had finished his meal and was in good spirits, he lay down beside the heap of grain and went to sleep. Then Ruth came quietly, uncovered his feet, and lay down. 8 Around midnight, Boaz suddenly woke up and turned over. He was surprised to find a woman laying at his feet! 9 “Who are you?” he demanded. “I am your servant Ruth,” she replied. “Spread the corner of your covering over me, for you are my family redeemer.”

10 “The LORD bless you, my daughter!” Boaz exclaimed. “You are showing more family loyalty now than ever by not running after a younger man, whether rich or poor. 11 Now don’t worry about a thing, my daughter. I will do what is necessary, for everyone in town knows you are an honorable woman. 12 But there is one problem. While it is true that I am one of your family redeemers, there is another man who is more closely related to you than I am. 13 Stay here tonight, and in the morning I will talk to him. If he is willing to redeem you, then let him marry you. But if he is not willing, then as surely as the LORD lives, I will marry you. Now lie down until the morning.”

14 So Ruth lay at Boaz’s feet until the morning, but she got up before it was light enough for people to recognize each other. For Boaz said, “No one must know that a woman was here at the threshing floor.” 15 Boaz also said to her, “Bring your cloak and spread it out.” He measured out six scoops of barley into the cloak and helped her put it on her back. Then Boaz returned to the town.

16 When Ruth went back to her mother-in-law, Naomi asked, “What happened, my daughter?”

Ruth told Naomi everything Boaz had done for her, 17 and she added, “He gave me these six scoops of barley and said, ‘Don’t go back to your mother-in-law empty-handed.'”

18 Then Naomi said to her, “Just be patient, my daughter, until we hear what happens. The man won’t rest until he has followed through on this. He will settle it today. Ruth 3:1-18

It seems that God wanted me to remember Dorothy so I would be lead to Ruth, so I would remember that each day I’m to be patient… because the same statement is true of God today. He won’t rest until He has followed through on this. God always follows through on His promises that He makes!

Onward by Faith!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

