Monday, October 24, 2011

A few weeks back I had a dream where I was at a Children’s Hospital, and I was waiting for the children to come into this big room so I could hand out gifts of comfort to each child.  I run a non-profit: OwieBowWowie and Friends Foundation, and we give OwieBowWowie’s to children who are hospitalized and in need of a friend. (Click www.iloveowie.org if you want to see an Owie.)

Anyway, in my dream Bill Gates walked into the room. One of his advisors walked over to me and said, “Mr. Gates would like you to have this. It’s a big check for your non-profit.”

As I went to open the envelope children came running through the door, and I set the envelope down on my lap. When I did that, each child got in line and  when I was done handing each child their toy… each child asked me for a hug.

The hugs went on for quite sometime, and then there was a moment when there were no more children in line and I looked down on my lap and noticed that I didn’t open the envelope yet. So, I picked it up, and as I did that I looked up and another group of children had lined up before me to get their gift of comfort, but before they got out of line, they too wanted a hug. 

Recently I’ve been spending my days working on ways to earn money for our non-profit, and even praying for the money. Then I go to bed one evening and dream about Bill Gates giving me a check, and when I go to open the envelope I’m faced with seeing how much money is in the envelope or giving the child before me a hug. I chose the hug.

A few days after my dream I told my friend, “I can’t believe that I dreamed about Bill Gates giving me a check to help our non-profit!” My friend then replied, “Well, how much did he give you?” I smiled and said, “I have no idea, I woke up before I could even see what was in the envelope!” He then replied, “Boy were you stupid. You pray for money, and then you don’t even stop to see how much is in the envelope. You missed it!”

Now, it was only a dream, but when he said that I had to ask myself this question, “Did I?”  I’ve been praying for money because we give gifts of comfort to children, but what my dream showed me was I was giving gifts of comfort that didn’t cost anything. Yes, I was giving them gifts, but before they left, they needed another one. A hug!

For the past few days I was thinking that even within my dream, if I would have stopped to open the envelope there might have a been a child that wouldn’t have received a hug. Because within my dream, I woke up after each child had left the room. There wasn’t another child in the room with me. Only me, Bill Gates, his advisor, and the envelope.

I know it was just a dream, but in “real” life I had to look at my life and wonder how many times I was so worried about making money that would arrive in an envelope that I neglected to reach out to a friend who simply needed a hug.

I’m so glad I had that dream. It reminded me of the importance of life. While I still need money to do what I do, I also know that God is the one who asked me to do what I do, so I have nothing to worry about.  I guess this is what it means when they say, “The check is in the mail!” Only God knows when it will arrive.

We may know that these things make no difference, but we cannot just go ahead and do  them to please ourselves. We must be considerate of the doubts and fears of those who think these things are wrong. We should please others. If we do what helps them, we will build them up in the Lord. For even Christ didn’t please himself. As the Scriptures say, “Those who insult you are also insulting me.” Such things were written in the Scriptures long ago to teach us. They give us hope and encouragement as we wait patiently for God’s promises.

May God, who gives this patience and encouragement, help you live in complete harmony with each other—each with the attitude of Christ Jesus toward the other. Then all of you can join together with one voice, giving praise and glory to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

So accept each other just as Christ has accepted you; then God will be glorified. Remember that Christ came as a servant to the Jews to show that God is true to the promises he made to their ancestors. And he came so the Gentiles might also give glory to God for his mercies to them. That is what the psalmist meant when he wrote:

“I will praise you among the Gentiles; I will sing praises in your name.” And in another place it is written, “rejoice, O you Gentiles, along with his people, the Jews.” And yet again, “Praise the Lord, all you Gentiles; praise him, all you people of the earth.” And the prophet Isaiah said, “The heir to David’s throne will come, and he will rule over the Gentiles. They will place their hopes on him.”

So, I pray that God, who gives you hope, will keep you happy and full of peace as you believe in him. May you overflow with hope through the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15: 1-13

Onward by Faith!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

