Thursday, October 20, 2011

At exactly 4:00 a.m. this morning I woke my husband up and said, “Happy Anniversary honey!” His reply, “Thank you, but I woke you up at midnight, gave you a kiss, and hugged you back to sleep… don’t you remember?”

Guess not!

Today is our fourth wedding anniversary.  I met Kenny when we were 14 years old, and after high school we went our separate ways. I went on to get married and have three children. Kenny went on to explore the world, and 25 years later our lives crossed paths again.

It’s interesting how comforting it was to reconnect with someone I knew from my youth. Even though I hadn’t seen him in over 25 years, he was still the person I had remembered him to be: honest, loving, gentle, kind, and he makes me laugh daily.

It didn’t take us but a year to know that we wanted to spend whatever time we had left with each other.  Time is something I understand. One day life is grand, and the next is when one can trip deep into the canyon. 

These four years have been grand, because we chose to make them that way, and each day he says something that makes me think about God. This morning when he said, “Thank you, but I woke you up at midnight, gave you a kiss, and hugged you back to sleep… don’t you remember?” I had to smile.

There’s a question that Christian’s pose to each other often:

WWJD?

Which interprets to: What Would Jesus Do?

Whenever I see that question on a shirt, bracelet, or bumper sticker, I want to run up to the person and answer it this way. “HE ALREADY DID IT! He died on the Cross for our sins, don’t you remember?”

Sometimes I’m so busy sleeping even I forget that in the simplicity of accepting Christ into my heart, the moment I did, Christ and I had an anniversary date,  and what a beautiful date that is to remember.

By this time it was noon, and darkness fell across the whole land until three o’clock. The light from the sun was gone. And suddenly, the thick veil hanging in the Temple was torn apart. Then Jesus shouted, “Father, I entrust my spirit into your hands!” And with those words he breathed his last.

When the captain of the Roman soldiers handling the executions saw what had happened, he praised God and said, “Surely this man was innocent. And when the crowd that came to see the crucifixion saw all that had happened, they went home in deep sorrow. But Jesus friends, including the women who had followed him from Galilee, stood at a distance watching. Luke 23: 44-49

Onward by Faith!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

