Sunday, October 16, 2011

 

Today, as I was driving home from church, a car pulled in front of me that had a license plate that read:  LIFE IS SHORT… PRAY HARD…

For some reason when I read it, I immediately started to think about the power of prayer and of the story Jesus shared about the fig tree.

The next morning as they passed by the fig tree he had cursed, the disciples noticed it was withered from the roots. Peter remembered what Jesus had said to the tree on the previous day and exclaimed, “Look, Teacher! The fig tree you cursed has withered!” Then Jesus said to the disciples, “Have faith in God. I assure you that you and your command will be obeyed. All that’s required is that you really believe and do not doubt in your heart. Listen to me! You can pray for anything, and if you believe, you will have it. But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.” Mark 11: 20-25

I was thinking about how much symbolism there is in that tree. A fig tree that once grew fruit, quit producing because Jesus walked by and cursed it.

All I could think of was how many times during my life had I run into a room with an idea that I thought was grand, only to find that someone cursed my idea.  And… once the curse was said out loud, it killed my dream.

I’m sure each person has had a dream cursed, and as much as we don’t like to think about it, I believe (at one time or another) we too have been a dream curser.

BUT… what Jesus is saying here is we no longer need to let the words of those who have cursed us continue to kill the dream, all we have to do is this…

Step 1:  Have faith in God.

Step 2:  Forgive anyone who has been your dream curser. (Because we too need to be forgiven.)

Step 3:  Pray for anything.

Step 4:  Really believe.

Step 5:  Do not doubt.

When I was able to see the power of hurtful words through a dead fig tree I realized the importance of using words of kindness to others. I don’t ever want to think I killed someone’s fig tree, just because I didn’t like the fruit it was producing.

It’s amazing how much one can learn from a license plate!

Onward by faith!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday, October 16, 2011

  1. Of course, what a magnificent site and enlightening posts, I surely will bookmark your blog.Have an awsome day!

Leave a Reply

