Saturday, October 15, 2011

Yesterday I was listening to the History Channel, and the narrator was sharing about those of Biblical days and what they endured.

Most of the stories I have heard before, but my ears perked up when I heard this story…

It seems that during the days of ol’ people would purchase Donkey’s to carry their burdens. They didn’t have trains, planes, or automobiles so everything they took, they had to carry.

The definition of burden is: a heavy load, a weight of trouble.

When I heard that I had to SMile.  I thought I might go look on eBay and see if I couldn’t find me a donkey, and then when I have a heavy load, or the weight of trouble is too heavy for me to carry, I too could load up my donkey and let him carry it for me. 

All kidding aside, I also realized the symbolism in Jesus being carried by a donkey.  He had just begun his last week on earth and his burdens were heavy…

The next day, the news that Jesus was on the way to Jerusalem swept through the city.  A huge crowd of Passover visitors took palm branches and went down the road to meet him. They shouted.

“Praise God! Bless the one who comes in the name of the Lord! Hail to the King of Israel!” 

Jesus found a young donkey and sat on it, fulfilling the prophecy that said: “Don’t be afraid, people of Israel.  Look, your King is coming, sitting on a donkey’s colt.” John 12: 12-15

 And,  from the Old Testament I’m reminded of Moses and the burdens he carried…

 Moses heard all the families standing in front of their tents weeping, and the LORD became extremely angry. Moses was also very aggravated. And Moses said to the LORD, “Why are you treating me, your servant, so miserably? What did I do to deserve the burden of a people like this? Are they my children? Am I their father? Is that why you have told me to carry them in my arms-like a nurse carries a baby- to the land you swore to give their ancestors? Where am I supposed to get meat for all these people? They keep complaining and saying, ‘Give us meat!’ I can’t carry all these people by myself! The load is far too heavy! I’d rather you killed me than treat me like this. Please spare me this misery!” Numbers 11: 10-15

 Today, if you find that you have a heavy burden just remember that  it’s never too late to let  go of what ails you.

 Onward by faith!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Saturday, October 15, 2011

  1. I am always invstigating online for posts that can help me. Thx!

Leave a Reply

